We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”
Review of Hotel Douro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinhao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Douro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pinhao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you are looking for a hotel to stay in Pinhão, right in the middle of the Douro Valley, in the Cima Corgo region, (or "Higher Corgo," where most of the top Porto wines come from,) the Hotel Douro is an excellent choice.
My group needed two rooms. Both rooms were spacious enough, if you don't plan to use them except for a good night's sleep. The rooms had good air conditioning, international TV, great internet access, (Free Internet access is available everywhere in the hotel,) and were immaculate clean.
Luis, (the hotel is family owned and his Dad sits most of the day at the entrance,) will do everything to help. From recommending a good local restaurant, to help organize your visit and boat river cruise.
The hotel is situated right in the middle of town, with a wonderful view of the river from its terrace, a short walk from the train station, the river pier, and restaurants.
You will leave feeling that your stay was worth every single penny you spent. No one can ask for better value for the money!
And for me, paying what I feel the place is worth, is the most important aspect, regardless of price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 183 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

This hotel is very good value for the price.
Small but bright and clean rooms.
Free Internet that actually worked.
They also had CNN news channel which is rare even in three star hotels in Europe.

Elizabeth Hall
Sydney

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This very friendly and well run hotel was an oasis for us as we traveled by bicycle through the Douro wine country in Portugal. It is a family business, run by Luis, his father Antonio Luis, and his mother who provides a good breakfast in their bright and spacious restaurant. Rooms are clean and comfortable with a view of the river and (if you are their at the right time) of the grape harvest rolling by in trucks under your window. Free Wi-fi, across the street from the train station and the river. We had our dinners with local wine on the terrace watching the sun set over the Douro hills, an experience we will remember and dwell on in the Canadian winter months we have ahead. The Hotel Douro is great value, hosts excellent, and we would highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mhurlburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is not a luxury hotel, but is probably just about worth the €55 per room per night. The breakfast is very good and you are asked if you want more of anything. Everything works and it is quite comfortable. We asked for a quiet room and Luis gave us a room on the back, which was fortunate as we arrived when the grape harvest was in full swing with loads of lorries banging along the road outside the front of the hotel.There is a small balcony area for the hotel, but we preferred to walk along the street to the Cafe Imperio which is a little bar, for a drink or two before dinner.
The roast goat dinner that has been raved about was OK, but nothing special, though there is not a great deal of choice in the small town. We had a decent dinner one night down by the river at the Vela Douro. It is easy to miss, as it is behind the other restaurant on the riverside. The "cow neck" was absolutely brilliant.
The hotel prefers you to pay in cash and will charge for card payments.
The train to Regua is frequent, but there's not much there either, though we had a great lunch in a Pizzeria that sits at the far end of the town.
So, overall, we were quite happy for the price.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on the back. Rooms with a view of the river etc are on the front on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank firtreecott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had a fantastic time staying here, Louis was an excellent host. His mothers home cooked lamb was the best food we had in Portugal!! Amazing location river views and across the road from the train station. We had the best time here!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TnANewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was a cute hotel with very nice staff. Important to note that there is no elevator and lots of steps. The room was clean with a beautiful view of the Douro river. Parking was available on the street on a first come first serve basis. Free wifi included!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank madtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed everything about our 2 night stay at Hotel Douro. From the moment we arrived, when Luis greeted us after we had walked up from the boat, to the moment we shook hands good bye and said we'd return, everything was perfect. It was lovely to be able to choose a good Douro wine to go along with our meal, and have it decanted and ready for dinner. Luis' mother is a wonderful cook, and takes such care to make everything delicious and well-presented. We ate here both nights, and after the first night, we knew we couldn't find anything better. The tawny port Luis poured for us after dinner was very special-the best we have ever tasted. It was really lovely to sit out on the balcony in our room, and the bigger one over the stairs, under the beautiful purple bouganvillea. It is fun to watch the boats and the trains come and go, and of course, the soak up the magic of the beautiful River Douro. The rooms were extremely comfortable and clean, and the air conditioning was very efficient too. We have happy memories and hope to return soon. It is nice to stay in a well-loved family run hotel with such nice hosts and at such reasonable prices.

Room Tip: The views from the rooms overlooking the Douro were spectacular. Ask for one with a table and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bidyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinhao
0.1 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
0.2 mi away
LBV House Hotel
LBV House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pinhao
150 reviews
3.7 mi away
Casa das Pipas
Casa das Pipas
#1 of 2 in Sabrosa
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Casa do Tua
Hotel Casa do Tua
#1 of 1 in Foz Tua
41 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Regua Douro
Hotel Regua Douro
#1 of 3 in Peso Da Regua
337 reviews
13.4 mi away
Residencial Columbano
Residencial Columbano
#3 of 3 in Peso Da Regua
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Douro

Address: Rua Antonio Manuel Saraiva 39, Pinhao 5085-037, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Pinhao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pinhao
Price Range: $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Douro 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the Pinhao...Pinhao is a village from the Alijo County, located on the right side of the Douro River. This little town is also one of the most beautiful places of Portugal.The peaceful village has an area of about 300 acres.Pinhao is 17 kilometres far from the county seat Alijo and 38 kilometres from the capital of the district, Vila Real. The toponymy of Pinhao is justified by the fact that you can find there the junction of the Pinhao River, which is an affluent of the Douro. Pinhao is located on the very heart of the Upper Douro Region. It`s a village where the astonished landscape is dominated by the mountain, shaped in terraces all along the Douro River. The quality and the good reception of our house make the difference. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing