We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quiet place in the very middle of Portugal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alegre Hotel Bussaco
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Luso
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful quiet place in the very middle of Portugal”
Reviewed October 19, 2008

I had a pleasure to spent 5 days in the Alegre Hotel in Luso in autumn 2006. The hotel overlooks the town and the surroundings from a hill which ascends further up to the magnificent Bussaco forest. The building is impressive and well kept, the wooden furniture and decorations adds a special feeling about the rooms. There is a small garden with a pool in the backyard, though it was already too cold to swim when I was there, there is another small garden with some fruit trees near the building. The place is quiet and little bit melancholic, may be because the town was semi-deserted in the off-season time.

Is is possible to walk up to the Bussaco forest, though riding a car would be a better option due to a steep ascent. The hotel has a private parking.

I had very nice recollection about the breakfast, being a fan of that type of black coffee which was served in the hotel. The fruits were available, in addition to cereals, fresh bread, cheese and ham. A lunch and a dinner are also available at the restaurant in the hotel, though I found that I generally dislike portuguese cuisine except for soups, fish and desserts so I wasn't frequent in this restaurant - but it was worth trying!

The room was spacious, with large bathroom, very clean and featured a view over the town.

The town, Luso is located in the very middle of the northern part of Portugal which makes it possible to have a daily car trips to almost every major touristic location returning back in the evening, instead of changing hotel in different cities each day. The Bussaco forest with the park and the palace are very impressive and full of spiritual energy, I spent many hours walking the paths there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank martinlemke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    81
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2008

I had a car and chose this hotel for a quiet location to visit the surroundings like Bussaco, Coimbra, Conimbriga, etc. I was impressed by the charming building, with personality. Although old, room was very clean, large and comfortable, except for the tiny shower box. Breakfast was ok.
A couple of small restaurants are close by.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Isopor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2007

The hotel is very impressive from the beginning: you see a towerning pink mansion on top of a hill as you approach the town centre from the motorway. The owner said that the mansion was 150 years old and it is remarkably well preserved for that age. We were impressed by high ceilings, spacious rooms, polished oak floors, quaint furniture, natural light through glass ceiling tiles in the bathroom and beds with traditional bedposts. The hotel has its own small pool in the garden and a parking. All in all, it is probably the best property in the spa town of Luso. Unfortunately, the breakfast was a shame: no choice and poor quality of food, coffee looked (and tasted) like muddy water. They should improve on that, but otherwise it is a very good choice for 50 euros (and it is only 20 km from Coimbra).

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2006

What can I say.. Must be the best 50 Euros I have ever spent.. MASSIVE room with a
an even bigger balcony..! Swimming pool was cold as ice but we didn’t care.. The best place to stay in Luso...Breakfast was excellent with big cups of coffee, ham cheese and
rolls as the norm in Portugal.. We had a saints day ( weekend ) when we stayed..drank like fishes.. Worth every penny!!!!

Try the bar / cafe / restaurant by the boating pond in the village.. great views.. very
good prices!! Also the sports bat at the top of the hill...Very Cheap

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ascot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luso
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel de Luso
0.8 mi away
Bussaco Palace Hotel
3.8 mi away
Quinta dos Tres Pinheiros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
22.6 mi away
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Aveiro
969 reviews
12.1 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 23 in Coimbra
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegre Hotel Bussaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegre Hotel Bussaco

Property: Alegre Hotel Bussaco
Address: Rua Emidio Navarro nr 2 | Bussaco, Luso 3050-224, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Luso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Luso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alegre Hotel Bussaco 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alegre is a delightful, intimate little hotel nestled in exquisite woodlands in Luso, Portugal. The perfect hotel for the guest eager to get away from it all and find a lazy retreat to recharge the batteries! Why not take a drink out to the pool and bask in the sunshine? For those more energetic guests there are a myriad of rambling trails to choose from each benefiting from spectacular scenery emphasized by the nearby Bussaco National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alegre Hotel Bussaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegre Hotel Luso
Alegre Hotel Bussaco Portugal/Luso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing