We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favour: pay 15 euros more and stay instead at Grande Hotel do Luso”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alegre Hotel Bussaco
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Luso
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do yourself a favour: pay 15 euros more and stay instead at Grande Hotel do Luso”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews, but we were very disappointed. The building is impressive and the swimming pool is pleasant, but the rest is rather disappointing. The rooms are quite old-fashioned, cheaply furnished and could do with a bit of cleaning (the smell of dust coming from the carpets is quite strong). The breakfast room is nice, but the breakfast is quite mediocre: some cereal (served for some reason with salad tongs), bread, plastic brioche, buter, some fruit and industrial jam presented in a large pot which is refilled every morning. On the whole, the "hotel" (it's really a B&B) needs serious refurbishment and modernisation to live up to its "boutique hotel" claims.
While in Luso we checked the prices of the Grande Hotel of Luso and regretted not having booked this place instead. For 15 euros more per night we would have had a comfortable and modern room, a nice place to go for drink at night (there's nowhere to go in Luso at night) and access to a real swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eunice49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlegreHotel, Manager at Alegre Hotel Bussaco, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Madam

Despite agreeing or not with the review content, we always take all our costumers reviews with extreme care, specially the ones that stimulated our costumers to join Tripadvisor community and to make their first feed-back ever.

We will analise your feed-back and try to improve according to it as we always do with all feed-backs, and we regret that it isn't possible to meet your expectation, as our valued guest.

Our Hotel has and allways will have a totally diferent profile from the other hotel mentioned by you, and of course, their prices will always be 2 or 3 levels above ours, despite special offers and flash rates that they can promote for some dates as mentioned by your comment.

Nevertheless, we hope that when you decide to come back to Luso or Bussaco, you will give us again the honour of beeing our guest.

Best Regards

Nuno Alegre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    77
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
83
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The family who run this atmospheric hotel are lovely, the breakfasts are generous and the rooms spacious and filled with character.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend you stay there too if you are after a unique stay in an old guest house style place with deliciously creaky stairs, rich timbers, heavy drapes and gentle quietness.
WE also enjoyed the spa retreat nearby for massage and spa and took a walk to the Bussaco palace. Car not required for this hotel and the local sights.
Would i tell me family to stay there? Yes!

Room Tip: A;; rooms seem to be on the first floor. When arriving by car, park around the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecobotanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Alegre Hotel Bussaco, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Madam

I am delighted to have served you and to have met your expectations.

Thank you for your kind and generous comment.

Hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

A very warm welcome, specious rooms and a good value price.

Every now and them you stay a place that has a special atmosphere and this is one of those places. Couple that with excellent local knowledge and wealth of great suggestions for your stay - you’ll struggle to do better!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squaremeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlegreHotel, Manager at Alegre Hotel Bussaco, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that we have fulfilled your expectations and hope to have you again as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed at hotel Alegre for two nights in August, during a road trip around Portugal, and it was one of the best hotels we stayed at - and certainly the best one for value for money! The manager, a lovely old gentleman, did not speak much English but spoke impeccable French, which I do, and went out of his way to advise us on places to visit and where to eat. There was a nice garden at the back, with a small swimming pool, by which we enjoyed relaxing after our long walks in the woods. Our room, like the rest of the hotel, was beautiful, with lovely antique furniture, and very clean. The breakfast buffet offered basic but nice food. For 50 Euros a night, we couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlegreHotel, Manager at Alegre Hotel Bussaco, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Madam

We are glad that you were pleased with our hotel and we thank you for your generous evaluation. We hope to have you again has our guests in the near future :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We just wanted a quiet place to relax after 2 weeks touring through Portugal. One of the best places ... even if rated with 2 stars only, this hotel was a very nice surprise, from friendly and helpful staff (old-fashioned, but still agile hotel owner), to great rooms & breakfast, a wonderful swimming pool, close by the village and the Bussaco Forrest. I would only add a bar in the lobby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlegreHotel, Manager at Alegre Hotel Bussaco, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Sirs

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to have fulfilled your expectations and hope to have you again, as our guests, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is a VERY special hotel. It remains true to it's heritage as a traditional spa hotel. For me it brings home old memories but I'm not old enough to have been there in the 40-50's. Mind you, all this means the infrastructure shows the weight of many years (even some of the patrons...) but the staff make up for less modern comforts with much sympathy and warmth. The pool is very agreeable and the Luso spa is a few hundred meters below. While in Luso DO NOT miss out on the wine and gourmet shop Magna Casta, next to the tourism office.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ric_melo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The three generations of owners of the Alegre have maintained this hotel in top condition, and have maintained a delightful atmosphere with antique furnishings. Through a short cut beside the hotel it's a ten minute walk to an entrance to Busaco.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luso
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel de Luso
0.8 mi away
Bussaco Palace Hotel
3.8 mi away
Quinta dos Tres Pinheiros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
22.6 mi away
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Aveiro
952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inatel Luso
Inatel Luso
#5 of 6 in Luso
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegre Hotel Bussaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegre Hotel Bussaco

Property: Alegre Hotel Bussaco
Address: Rua Emidio Navarro nr 2 | Bussaco, Luso 3050-224, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Luso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Luso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alegre Hotel Bussaco 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alegre is a delightful, intimate little hotel nestled in exquisite woodlands in Luso, Portugal. The perfect hotel for the guest eager to get away from it all and find a lazy retreat to recharge the batteries! Why not take a drink out to the pool and bask in the sunshine? For those more energetic guests there are a myriad of rambling trails to choose from each benefiting from spectacular scenery emphasized by the nearby Bussaco National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alegre Hotel Bussaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegre Hotel Luso
Alegre Hotel Bussaco Portugal/Luso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing