We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated Classic Grande Hotel do Luso”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Hotel de Luso
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Luso
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Renovated Classic Grande Hotel do Luso”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Grande Hotel do Luso was one of my childhood hotels and my memories were of a grand, elegant and classic hotel a little bit lost in time, bringing back an old Portugal. All those feelings came back this month... I revisited the hotel to find it renovated, but still classic and elegant, but still from another time. I would have liked less brown colours, but the food was great, the staff nice and attentive, the room confortable. The swimming pool is still great and also a classic.
The breakfast could be more varied and rich, specially in fruit.
Large open spaces and very quiet all around. It was nice to be there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CristinaCunhaCardoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    172
    64
    8
    5
See reviews for
121
129
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very good remodeling, maintaining the old spirit of this grand hotel. The 50m swimming pool is still there and with wonderful refreshing water. The staff is magnificent and very polite.

On the not so bright side, the breakfast should have more options, but is quite good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west allow you to see your way to the sea far far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruiamador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for five nights in August of 2013. The weather was perfect and the hotel is quite nice. They have renovated rather recently - they chose dark colors for the lobby and for the sitting room - kind of somber for a lobby - but it is clean and appealing. The staff at the front desk speaks English and they are very kind and helpful.
My room was also very nice - very clean. I loved the robe that was provided for the guests. A buffet breakfast was complimentary and was very satisfactory. Not much fresh fruit but eggs. bacon, proscuitto, cereals, pastries, rolls and small yogurts. Something to satisfy everyone.

There is an indoor pool and an outdoor pool and plenty of seating around the outdoor pool which an area to picnic as well. There is a bar and small cafe by the pool which is very convenient. There is also a room for children to play which is very convenient for parents. There are two young adults who look after the children for childrens' programs during the day.

The hotel is conveniently located to the small, charming town. You can walk to the pharmacy - which, by the way, sells Retin-A without a prescription and quite inexpensively. My daughter-in-law also purchased Biafine inexpensively for those of you who are skin cream fanatics. There is a market which sells delicious fresh fruit - also inexpensive and some small clothing stores.

Luso is famous for its natural mineral water which is believed to have therapeutic and curative properties. One can see many, many townspeople coming with plastic bottles to fill them up with the famous water at a huge fountain in the town center. There are restaurants and cafes to enjoy your meals - all within minutes from the hotel. There is a lovely church that one can see from the hotel, but unfortunately, I never made it to Mass there. My loss. The sound of the church bells was quite lovely.

The hotel is well managed and I met several Portugese people who come to vacation in this charming town and stay at this charming hotel every year. There was an elderly couple who could be found reading in the sitting room for hours and hours on end every day. On one of the evenings, I attended in the auditorium of the hotel a violin concert given my local children which was excellent.

The hotel is also a short distance from Bussaco Castle which is well worth seeing. The grounds are astonishing.

The only problem I encountered was the rumbling sound of people (children) running up and down the stairs seemingly into the night. It was a bit hard to get to sleep. Because it is an older hotel, there is only one lift, but it really did not become an inconvenience.

Room Tip: Maybe away from the stairs not to hear the rumbling?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelovernewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights during a trip around the centre of Portugal and on the whole enjoyed it. The breakfast was the best we had during the trip, and we also had the evening buffet twice and this was also very good and a reasonable price, and certainly better than the food we were served in the restaurants we used. The only problem, although it did not really detract from our enjoyment, was that the hotel seems to cater for various groups of young people doing activities of one kind or another. In the evenings in the bar area and also the restaurant there was a lot of chasing around at times, which could be irritating. Also on a weekend it was not possible to find a sun lounger around the pool, people were just putting towels down on the grass. We think that this was probably because the hotel allows the public to use the facilities, but this does mean that it is crowded for guests, especially as the weekend rate is actually higher.

Luso is not very big, but it is a pleasant place and a good base for a number of visits.The Busaco forest is very near, we also got the bus into Coimbra, which was one of the highlights of our trip, and drove to Viseu.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oporto,Portugal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Ficamos por 3 noites com um pacote de Verão (3 noites com meia pensão + Break Zen na Clínica Malo + 2 ingressos para "Portugal dos Pequeninos" + 3 dias Holmes Place Gym).
Ficamos num quarto superior com vista para a enorme piscina (50 metros) e com três janelas (muito iluminado). O quarto era mesmo grande. Tivemos direito a roupão, chinelos e toalhas de piscina para natação sem qualquer custo.
O quarto tinha uma porta comunicante, e a insonorização não era das melhores.
O colchão também estava um pouco gasto...
Em relação às refeições, todas óptimas! A comida é excelente! A simpatia da maior parte dos funcionários é notavel.
A animação é boa!
Nas piscinas a temperatura da água é bastante fresca (22-24ºC), mas depois de entrar fica optima! Cuidado com as camas de piscina, que muito cedo ficam ocupadas apenas com toalhas e sem qualquer pessoa!
Perto do hotel encontram locais para refeições ligeiras (sopas/sanduiches) a preços baratos.
No geral, adoramos a nossa estadia!E voltaremos, sem dúvidas!

We stayed for 3 nights with a summer package (3 nights with half board + Break Zen Malo Clinic + 2 tickets to "Portugal for the Little Ones" + 3 days Holmes Place Gym).
We stayed in a superior room overlooking the huge pool (50 meters) and with three windows (very bright). The room was very large. We had bathrobe, slippers and pool towels without any extra cost.
The room had a connecting door, and the soundproofing was not the best.
The mattress was also a little worn ...
In relation to food, all great! The food is excellent! The sympathy of most employees is remarkable.
The animation is good!
In pools the water temperature is very cold (22-24 ° C), but after entering is really good!! Beware of the pool beds that are occupied very early with towels and no person!
Close to the hotel you can find light meals (soups / sandwiches) at cheap prices.
Overall we loved our stay! And will be back, no doubt!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with pool view!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annadent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a 4 star all remodeled with fantastic 50 m, a diving tower, and a 20 m inside pool.

Is a must is relaxing place, at modest price. The snack at pool are very nice, and the hotel has squash, ping pong, snooker, and a SPA

A must is to launch in Mealhada the famouse "LEITAO" small pigs

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in the Grande hotel de Luso in September 2012, after a hard working week spent with many people it was the perfect antidote. It was quiet, comfortable and welcoming.

The outdoor pool is large and is fed by spa water - so no nasty chlorine smells, nothing but pure spa water effects on your skin.

We had a lovely upstairs double room with a balcony overlooking the outdoor pool which we would recommend as it was quiet with a lovely view over part of the town. The sun shone in the windows through the day however there were heavy drapes/curtains to keep the room cool and two sets of French doors so during the evening you could relax with lots of fresh air in the room, the air conditioner was not always needed even though the temperatures were in the thirties. In fact sleeping with the balcony doors open was blissful as the breeze could waft through the room.

Breakfast was typical of the hotels in Portugal that we stayed in. It could have been improved with more fresh fruits however there were cold meats, cheeses, scrambled eggs, bacon, pastries etc and fresh coffee. As a word of warning if you see tour buses unloading in the evening find out what time they are attending breakfast and get there before them - as it can become a bit crowded in the mornings which spoils the usual quiet breakfast ambiance, overlooking the outdoor pool and gardens.

Apart from breakfast we didn't eat in the hotel, preferring a guesthouse restaurant just across the road from the Hotel. Unfortunately I cannot remember the name of this restaurant but it's hard to miss, it looks like an old inn or pub however the food was wonderful and the service friendly without being fussy. I recommend the goat in red wine. We ate there most evenings and were never disappointed.

The nearby lake is a lovely walk, day or night and of course the forests of Busaco must be explored. We did not avail of the Spa so I cannot comment on it.

Room Tip: Upstairs room, with balcony, overlooking the pool for quiet and sunny evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaleoIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luso
0.9 mi away
Bussaco Palace Hotel
5.2 mi away
Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Alegre Hotel
Alegre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Luso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Aveiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
12.2 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
5.4 mi away
Termas da Curia Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel de Luso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel de Luso

Property: Grande Hotel de Luso
Address: Rua Doutor Cid de Oliveira No 86, Luso 3050-248, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Luso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Luso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Hotel de Luso 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the slopes of Buçaco, the Grande Hotel de Luso is an emblematic hotel, which has for almost 75 years. Remains the privileged meeting point for all occasions. The building designed by architect Cassiano Branco, dominates the landscape of the town of Luso, rightly famous for its excellent water quality that is born here. The Grande Hotel do Luso has 132 rooms including 12 suites and rooms. Restaurant and the Bar with panoramic views of the ex-libris of the hotel which is the Olympic pool. The indoor pool, the direct connection to Termas de Luso & SPA, squash courts, snooker, the playground and the gardens complete the range of facilities and equipment that provide true leisure time. The smaller have the space Luso Kids, are all sorts of games and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grande Hotel de Luso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Hotel De Luso Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing