We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bussaco Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Luso
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Everything other reviewers say is true: this is an incredible piece of architecture in a beautiful forest setting and a special place to stay. However, it is not what I consider a five star hotel and I was disappointed by my visit.
I booked a double room and was given a twin room, right next to stairs, with no view (see photo of the view from my window). I asked to be moved but was told that the booking website did say 'Double OR Twin' so I had to accept the twin and that the hotel was full. The receptionist was intractable and icily polite in a way that made me feel the hotel couldn't care less.
Although the bathroom was clean the hairdryer was archaic and sticky; the bedside light didn't work and only one of two bulbs was working in the overhead light. Some facilities that you would expect in a 5 star hotel are missing such as a room safe. The corridor outside my room was bleak and depressing - no flowers or paintings on the wall.
The evening service in the bar/restaurant was incredibly slow because only three waiters were on duty in both areas. We had hoped to have a second drink in the bar but the waiters simply disappeared into the dining room where they were trying to serve over 50 covers. They were polite but the place was understaffed.
I paid 89 euros for single occupancy of a twin room. What I got was a view of a wall, some access to areas featured on the hotel website and a hotel that is resting on its previous reputation. If you chose to stay here enjoy the scenery but do not expect an international 5 star service.

Room Tip: If you want a view you need to book a superior room. Rooms in the same corridor as numbers 84-83 loo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
There are newer reviews for Bussaco Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 796 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Well! -- this is not at all the kind of place we usually stay at, being in some ways backpackers at heart; but it's not the kind of place ANYONE 'usually' stays at because it is virtually unique. It is a massive, completely 'over the top' baroque palace from the 19th C. with breath-takingly, laughably ornate stone carvings all over it, and it is set in a large diverse forest reserve with unusual trees, little chapels and other features throughout, and pathways everywhere.

This is an absolutely great place to stay for one night. Arrive as early as you can; get out and hike the forest trails; come back for an overpriced meal (grumble grumble); enjoy your fabulously spacious room and marble-lined bathroom; sleep well; have your marvellous buffet breakfast (included) -- perhaps even steal enough bread, ham, yogurt, etc., for a picnic lunch, as we did; -- and then go out for another long walk! Check out is at noon. Then carry on with your tourism to Luso, Coimbra, or whevever you're headed.

Note: this place fills up at weekends with Portuguese tourists. You may need to book, which we ourselves did through good ol' Booking dot com.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EscapistNever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Two times in 3 years... first was solo. First, the grounds and forest walks are spectacular . . .Trees from around the world! The Palace, as mentioned, needs a bit more love and care though is still very romantic and enchanting. The meals I had the second visit were not as well prepared as the first time. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Had good conversations with other guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceWaltWhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very good everything. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is kind. The nature is also very beautiful and all is very peaceful. This is a great place to come to relax and forget about the hectic eveyday world.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHA100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in Busaco Palace Hotel one night on our way from Coimbra to Porto. Amazing experience have to say. The atmosphere of the Palace was something I will never forget. Very good service. The forest and gardens around the palace make great options for shorther and longer walks. Although the room we stayed was below the standarts of 5 star hotel - we did not really mind it, and both, bed and bathroom were comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed the dinner with the company of few more people eating in the restaurat that night. Cup of tea afterward in the seating room with the music of Chopin and Tchaikovsky made this evening very special.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgor_Dublin_Lublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my wife during our recent two week visit to Portugal and do not regret it for a minute. Let me start with the positives......staff was wonderful - professional, attentive, and courteous; the atmosphere was magnificent - hard to match the history and ambience of the property and surrounding grounds; restaurant was everything it's cracked up to be - wonderful meal and wine selection. Only real negative was the room....more specifically, the bed. The bed was hard and the pillows were flat and hard. I can't really sugar-coat it any better than that. They were well below the quality I would have expected from such an amazing property. As "duiker44" mentions in a previous review....the property is in need of some "loving attention" in the way of some power washing and paint. But it is also that weathered quality that gives it some of its charm. Helpful hint for travellers....make sure you access the hotel from Luso, if possible. We came in from the south and had to come over the mountain. Much easier to access through Luso.

Room Tip: Ask for room over the gardens on 2nd floor. We were in Room 15 and were able to walk out on a share...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Palace Hotel Bussaco in Portugal is able to offer guests the unique experience of stayng in a veritable palace surrounded by unique gardens and woods. Inside is a true palace setting, enhanced by the presence of a remarkable collection of works of art from the hands of the great masters of the Portuguese era.
This hotel have an unique architectural, botanical and landscape set in Europe and is one of the most beautiful and historic hotels around the world.
Rooms are OK and common areas also, but all spaces need some renovations to bring it to its former glory. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly and we notice that are there to help us.
We didn't eat in the Hotel and went to Mealhada to try the region specialty ... «Leitão Assado». Very good.
Unfortunately my camera card is unreadable so the only images I've are a collection of nice old postcards.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coutito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luso
6.1 mi away
Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Alegre Hotel Bussaco
0.9 mi away
Grande Hotel de Luso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
23.4 mi away
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Aveiro
990 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hotel Moliceiro
Hotel Moliceiro
#1 of 16 in Aveiro
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bussaco Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bussaco Palace Hotel

Address: Mata do Bussaco, Luso 3050-261, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Luso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Luso
Price Range: $121 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bussaco Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bussaco Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bussaco Palace Luso
Hotel Bussaco Palace
Bussaco Palace Hotel Portugal/Luso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing