We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bussaco Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (865)
Filter reviews
865 results
Traveler rating
311
270
164
74
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
270
164
74
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairy taledining roombussaco palaceunique experiencepublic areasmagical placeno doubtone of a kindnational parkonce in a lifetimeamazing hotelhunting lodgeown winemanueline architecturepeeling paintgardens are beautifulking and queen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 865 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Whilst the grounds are magnificent and the rooms adequate the food was simply terrible and expensive. Perhaps OK for a stay but definately don't eat there. Try a restaurant in Luso.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This was a once in a lifetime experience, and I am really happy that we stayed here for a couple of nights. The palace is at the center of a walled in forest, covered in azulejos telling the story of the discoveries. Many of the rooms have balconies with actual gargoyles hanging off of them, and the rose window over the main staircase is stunning. It was like being in a fairy tale.

On the other hand, it is a bit laughable that this is billed as a 5-star hotel, and crazy that it charges such a high price for the rooms. We had a comfortable 3-star room, quirky and clean and cramped. It was fine, but the pillows were lumpy and the bed was really hard. Not one person at the hotel asked if we were enjoying our stay, even at check out. We had a good laugh at the 1980s style phone and television in the room. No air conditioning. A small space heater with red tape wrapped around a frayed cord. We had a voucher, two nights for the price of one, so I think we paid what it is worth. But the full price they charge per night is on par with actual 5 star establishments, with amenities and comfort at a level far beyond what they do here.

In short-- stay here if you can get a good price, and expect to feel like royalty and in awe of your surroundings. It is like staying at a place you would normally tour, not sleep in! On the other hand, keep your expectations in check about the 5 star thing. That part is just not true. And also-- do NOT eat in the restaurant other than the free breakfast buffet! Drive into Luso and try a restaurant there. We loved Pedra de Sal. But the €40/plate palace meal was a real disappointment.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony, and in summer make sure you ask for a room with A/C-- they don't all have it.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Palace Hotel do Bussaco is located in the heart of a natural woodland reserve in Bussaco, Portugal. The hotel has a good representation of The Portuguese 'Manueline' style of architecture.
Being an historical Hotel, with 5* classification we would expect a 5* accomodation and treatment, however the Hotel is quite old, and definitely need to be renovated in many levels, namelly confort of the bedrooms, toilets, and general decoration.
Nevertheless if you like the old original style, than this is a very good choise.
Do not miss a visit to the restaurant. The room is unique and the cuisine is also quite good. A large selection of old wines is also available.
Located inside the Bussaco forest, you have the change a a direct contact with nature, since there are several tracks allong the forest to explore.
Also history is very much present, with the Carmelitas Convent and the military museum, due to the French Napolean batle that took in the region.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnm_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

As others have mentioned the location is beautiful. The grounds are immense with lots of trails, gardens and hidden treasures in the forest. The building itself is beautiful too, the rooms are fine (for such an old place). They are very clean, and spacious. They could use some updating, as the materials are getting pretty worn. Rooms were very hot, we had to open a window. The bell man was amazing and so helpful with our luggage, however, the restaurant staff comes across as snooty. Service is slow, I suspect they think no one is in a hurry...no other choices up here. While the dinner was only OK at best it was very expensive. Breakfast buffet (included in room cost) however was very good - they even had champagne. We enjoyed our stay, one night is probably enough here though.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Battle of Bussaco was one of the Duke of Wellington's major victories of the Peninsula Wars and you can still visit the cork lined room where he slept the night before the battle. In those days the tiny monastery was the only place to stay in what is now a magic place in Portugal.

The monks planted an incredible array of trees and then built a very high wall to ensure their privacy, especially by keeping women out. The trees and deep forest served as a haven for wild life so the King decided to take the place over and built a royal hunting lodge. The last King of Portugal ( Manuel ) was indeed unfortunate in never getting to use it

The hunting lodge was converted to a hotel and remains so today. We have been there on three occasions, the last to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary (both in our 60s) with a group of 24 friends from Canada UK and of course Australia which is home.

The private dining room setting, the menu, the wine and the special touches added by the staff made for a very special occasion but other main meals in the grand dining room, the wine list ( including their own brand bottled in the cellar downstairs ) and the service can provide a special occasion for a couple looking for a romantic getaway.

As a group we organised a picnic in the grounds using a market day in Luso to put together a feast which had none of us fronting up for dinner at night.

A strenuous walk up to the Cruz Alta ( High Cross ) on top of the big hill allows you to look at the life size terra cotta Stations of the Cross on the way up. Here the monks would stop to pray and contemplate on their way to the top of the hill . There you can take in the spectacular view to the south and west including a seat at the place from which the Iron Duke directed his victorious troops.

When you reach 76 , as I have, there is a constant battle to decide whether to get to the end of the bucket list or to return to favourite places. The Palace Hotel at Bussaco heads the list of favourite places in the world.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden and the swans is very peaceful.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RODNEY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews