We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Curia
Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Spa is great”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Good things about this hotel: the spa is great, although the japonese bath was not avalilable. The historical building is beautiful. The green.

Not so good things: the beds and pillows could be more confortable. The outdoor pool needs renovation as well as some parts of the hotel. The prices (at least for this month) are a bit high for want they offer.

The hotel is good to relax.

Room Tip: I asked for a quite room. Absolut silence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatiaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    150
    65
    23
    9
See reviews for
102
142
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one night with my girlfriend in May 2011. We bought the romantic package, which included breakfast in the room, chocolate fondue and free use of the swimming pool and sauna. We used all this offers but for some of them we had to wait more than what it was supposed.
The hotel is an historic building and for me that is the best point of this hotel. The façade is beautiful and the rooms are large and comfortable. It looks like and old palace. I liked the indoor swimming pool, it's nice designed and it wasn't crowded when I was there. Because of the offers I didn't use the breakfast room.
I think the hotel should have a better service and has some problems related to the building being from the beggining of the 20th century (despite being renovated recently). You can for pleasant walks on the gardens of Curia just around the corner.
Of course, you shouldn't lose the opportunity to go nearby Mealhada and eat Mealhada piglet which is the best in Portugal. Any portuguese that crosses this region on travel goes there!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucasousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I did not liked it ... the free wi-fi is only in the lobby, one must have a cable to have net in the bedrooms, some sites, as facebook or msn, are blocked, and i was told from reception that are blocked to workers so..also to costumers...
the spa...well ,no slippers are given to costumers,robes only if one has a massage, the access to the pool is paid even to hosts.
the rooms..any similarity to the ones that are shown in the site , and i went to 3 different because there was no plug to the cable, is a coincidence
I liked very much the food, in breakfast and lunch as well as the service and the cleaning

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luisa1955060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villafranca De Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

The Hotel Palace Curia is a renovated grand hotel from the 1920s. They have done a good job of preserving the historic architecture with high ceilings and lots of wood, except in the bedrooms where they have gone modern minimalist, which is a shame. Why pay extra to stay in a resorted historic hotel only to have a bedroom like any other modern hotel anywhere in the world? Despite the grand building, there is little else to justify the premium in price. The rooms are not special, the gardens are limited, and the pool was closed when we were there. There is also an included sauna and wifi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaunas8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Booked 5 nights at the Palace and stayed for 7! We loved it there. The hotel has been closed for over 2 years and has had a total refurbishment. The rooms are above average size and have been updated with modern furniture, flat screen tv and comfortable beds. The bathrooms are excellent with quality towels and toiletries.

On entering the hotel you experience the old world charm of the 1930's and very little has changed. Everthing was clean, tidy to the point of being regimental. High ceilings everywhere and massive function rooms and restaurant. Food in hotel was very good but because there weren't so many guests in the hotel it lacked atmosphere. Staff very helpful and friendly. We had stayed in Curia before - at the Grand Hotel. This was 100% better than the Grand.

The bonus was the Spa and guests can use the spa facilities for 1 hour a day free of charge. Indoor pool, sauna, steam room, plunge pools - they've got the lot. For 7 days we had the pool to ourselves every afternoon - a great relaxing holiday.

We love this are of Portugal and visited all the local spa towns and "seaside"!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank keithsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

It was told by staff that the gigantic propotionate hotel was reopened in june 2008, after a 4 year shut down. All rooms have been refurbished and are of 4* quality. The authentic details and furniture from the 20'ies have been very well preserved and it gives a stay in this hotel a quite unique experience. You feel being on the Titanic, yet with the certaintity of vast ground. The indoor spa and pool are fine, the outdoor pool still needs some attention though.

However the atmosphere is not what I'd call warm and cosy, and the service in the restaurant is exteremely poor, tempting the most calm and patient people.

The rate however (110€ in high season, incl breakfast) is absolutely acceptable.

If you are in to the Art Nouveau style, this is a must see.

  • Liked — The architecture and rooms
  • Disliked — service at the restaurant
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Curia
6.1 mi away
Bussaco Palace Hotel
5.2 mi away
Grande Hotel de Luso
0.2 mi away
Termas da Curia Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Aveiro
946 reviews
16.3 mi away
Montebelo Vista Alegre Ilhavo Hotel
5.3 mi away
Alegre Hotel Bussaco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Address: | Tamengos-Anadia, Curia 3780-541, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Curia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Curia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the vineyards of the demarcated Bairrada region and the Curia Health Spa outside Coimbra is the Curia Palace, Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort. A beautiful property dressed up in art deco style, exquisite antiques, high ceilings, spacious rooms that were now improved with the comfort of the furniture of the actual days, but always preserving the rich style of the Golden Years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curia Palace, Hotel Spa & Golf Curia
Curia Palace, Hotel Spa And Golf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing