We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring Madeira”
Review of Dom Pedro Madeira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dom Pedro Madeira
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring Madeira”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very pleasant hotel 50 m from pebble beach, with sand beach 300 m away. Sunbathing area and pool with free loungers. Bars and restarants 5 mins walk. Very good sea front fish restaurant (Mare Alta) 5 mins walk. Evening entertainment in piano bar. Wine poor.
Good sized rooms with view over beaches and harbour. Old fashioned TV, phone, digital safe 2euro/night. No A/C, no fridge, no hair drier, no tea making. Tennis courts and games area.
Good breakfast.
Dive centre and travel agent on site. Free wifi in lobby.
On steet parking near hotel is free but becomes full. Pay parking on street 3 mins walk and underground pay parking.
To get to hotel take Macchica Sud exit, 1st R at roundabout then firts left. Hotel is largest building.
Very easy access to motorway. 4 km. from airport but noise is not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    278
    230
    89
    53
See reviews for
154
369
55
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penkridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

There are many mixed reviews on this hotel, and I must admit that I was a little reserved after reading them before our holiday, but we had a fabulous time. Yes the hotel is dated in its decoration, and we felt that it was more a 3* than 4* as advertised, but the service we received throughout was fantastic.
We booked our holiday in January, and paid for a room upgrade which gave us a balcony and sea view. We were on the third floor and the view was fab. The room was kept very clean and the minibar refilled every day (we were all inclusive).
We enjoyed every meal. Breakfast consisted of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, cold meats, and much more, with 3 hot foods available each day which was either bacon, sausages, eggs, mushrooms or beans. Lunch and dinner had soup, lots of variety on the salad bar, cooked veg, rice, pasta, potatoes, fish, meat and veggie option, cakes, fruit, cheese board and ice cream.
There are only 2 golden sand beaches on Madeira (both man-made) and one is just by the hotel, but if you have young children, take your own bucket and spade as we could not find one to buy in the town - we ended up buying a cleaning bucket and cooking utensils - still had great fun though!!
The pool at the hotel is heated to approx. 21 degrees Celsius and is well maintained. Free sun beds and towels are provided for use at the pool, but you do have to pay for parasols - 1.50 Euro per day.
The evening entertainment was okay - we saw 5 different acts on a rotational basis - all good singers but heard lots of the same songs. One evening had the traditional dancers in for a part of it - these were brilliant!
The town of Machico is quiet - a few local bars and restaurants which we really enjoyed, but if you're after night life, then this would not be the town for you - although the Capital of Funchal is easily accessible via bus or taxi with lots of night life.
Our only complaint was the fault of the travel company we booked with who had advertised the hotel as having air conditioning which it does not, but we found that opening the balcony door was sufficient anyway.
Overall, we really enjoyed our holiday and stay at the Dom Pedro and we would stay there again. It was very relaxing and all of the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Charlie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were looking for a low to mid-range bed & breakfast and at 67 euros/night for a club room (with lovely sea view & balcony) in low season (just before and during Easter) we were pretty happy with this hotel and this room. It had a fridge and a lovely welcome from the hotel in the form of a complimentary bottle of Madeira wine and a fruit bowl. We actually realised though that it wasn't quite hot enough to use the balcony so the hotel was happy enough to switch us down to a smaller standard room for the remaining three nights - which was 41 euros a night. Unfortunately there wasn't a fridge in this room, but we managed without it. We weren't sure if we'd stay the whole time in Machico so only booked a night or two at a time, but the hotel was quite happy and flexible about us doing this as well.

We weren't in Madeira to spend our time at the hotel, so we weren't too fussed about the decor. Both rooms were very clean - it's hard to make older decor look absolutely spotless but I am very picky and I was happy with the standard. I'd probably say the hotel was once a 4 star but is now really 3 to 3.5 at a stretch.

The room wasn't very full so we couldn't really judge how noisy it would be full - we met a couple who said they could hear their neighbours walking around. That might be something to consider if you're a light sleeper.

Breakfast was a decent buffet with lots of options available, so you could fill up in preparation for a long levada walk. If you really like cold meats for breakfast, you might be a bit disappointed by the cheap salty salami and compressed ham. The bread was always freshly baked and really delicious though - a nice change from supermarket loaves. There was loads of fresh fruit on offer and always some kind of cooked breakfast (eggs, mushrooms, bacon, beans) and continental options of all kinds - not much in the way of freshly squeezed juices though. We didn't eat dinner there so couldn't comment on this.

We didn't spend much time by the pool, but I have to say when I did relax there a couple of hours it was very nice - the deck chairs are modern and very comfy, and the pool salty rather than chlorine which is better for my skin. There's a bar of course. There's table football for 50c/pop (it is a bit old and you need strong wrists, but it's fun!). We were surprised at the cost of the pool table - 5 euros for an hour seemed a bit excessive.

Location wise the hotel is less than 2 euros per person by local SAM line bus from the airport - otherwise it's 10 euros in a taxi. It's less than 10 minutes away. If you're travelling on a public holiday take care - the buses will be on Sunday timetables and these can change without much warning, so could be leaving quite a bit earlier than you think! Best to check direct with the bus company online if you can.

I couldn't find any hotels in my price range with in-room wifi, which is a shame but seems to be a Madeira thing. Plenty of wifi access in the lobby though and lots of very comfy seating so not a problem to spend a bit of time there doing research on your next meal out or walking route etc. If you like a nice quiet location, this is a nice place to stay and I'd recommend it overall.

Room Tip: Request a sea view, but ask yourself if you really need a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KilburnKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I think I can understand both the positive and negative reviews. It's a fairly unspectacular hotel and really quite old now, without the trimmings of some of the newer hotels. But we didnt have any problems with it and especially after upgrading to a 3rd floor room with a proper view (started off with a pretty tiny room, no balcony and a view of the adjacent building!) our stay was fine. Some of the reception staff could have done with brightening up a bit, but there were several others about the place who were really friendly and really helpful. Location was good, but not on the beachfront if that's your thing. All in all, you could almost certainly do better, but if this is where you're wanting to visit then chances are this hotel will do a job. Madeira though - very nice.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the third floor to get a better view and a balcony - 314
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samba2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentUK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Initial impression of hotel good - excellent location overlooking the bay, exterior and surroundings well maintained and a comfortable and bright reception area. However, initial triple room offered not 4* - cramped with three beds and although spotlessly clean needed updating. Negotiated upgrade to Club room for additional £110 (per room) which, although larger and with small balcony, was of the same quality as first room. All other areas of the hotel were again clean but in need of updating and not of 4* quality.
The food again initially appeared good with a choice of hot and cold items at each meal but the menu quickly repetitive with identical cold plates offered for lunch / dinner each day of our stay while the hot alternatives, usually one meat and one fish option, were generally poor.
The Town of Machino, while pleasant, was devoid of any entertainment venues appearing principally as a quiet residential town.
The staff were friendly and helpful if at times appearing reserved.
The evening entertainment, other than one evening with an excellent local cultural group, was of karaoke quality at best.
We booked a full day tour of the north east coast which was excellent and used the local bus service to explore the island which provided some much needed excitement - 50 KPH around hairpin bends and shear drops on either side.
Considering the cost of the trip with quality of hotel would only rate the holiday as barely average and would be unlikely to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjpgreenhithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Was surprised at some of the negative reviews. Found everything very good, hotel, reception, room, food, cleanliness, staff. Seems some of these people must have stayed at a different hotel! Pool bar opened some of the time, - always when very hot, otherwise, other bar nearby open, so wasn't a problem if pool bar not open. Plenty of choices of food, and always hot. We were all inclusive and very good value for money. I would recommend it if you want a quiet holiday or into walking, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMH2089670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grays essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at the Dom Pedro for a week in march and got pretty much what we expected for what we paid . The Dom Pedro is not luxurious by any means, its dated and probably not four star by today's standards. The food was average, we avoided the things that did not appeal to us, like cold sprouts, cheap sausages and meats in the breakfast buffet, but there were always plenty of alternative choices in both the breakfast and when we ate in in the evening. We did not stay all inclusive or used the hotel during the day, that is not our kind of holiday, so we could'nt comment on the facilities or entertainment.
Saying all that, the hotel was clean and quiet , most of the staff were very helpful and friendly. It is true that the majority of guests were of a certain age and the town was very quiet with little going on. But if you do your homework you would know that Madeira is a place where mainly older people stay in the winter and Machico is principally a residential town. If you want a holiday geared up for younger people, Funchal or another island like Teneriffe would be a better bet.
We enjoyed our holiday in Madeira and thought the hotel was very adequate for our needs. If we wanted a holiday based around the hotel though this would probably have been a more critical review !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winterGraysEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machico
2.5 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,000 reviews
5.9 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
704 reviews
12.0 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 86 in Funchal
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
7.0 mi away
Dom Pedro Garajau
Dom Pedro Garajau
#9 of 13 in Canico
498 reviews
23.5 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Madeira

Property: Dom Pedro Madeira
Address: Estrada De Sao Roque, Machico, Madeira 9200-126, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Machico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Madeira Ocean Beach Hotel Located on the east coast of the Madeira Island, at Machico Bay, with a stunning view over the sea, Ilhas Desertas and Ponta de São Lourenço. Only 50 meters from one of the few Madeira’s white sandy beach, the hotel features a large salt water pool with a view of Machico Bay, a diving center, tennis and volleyball court. The hotel has a buffet restaurant, serving regional and international cuisine and two bars, where the famous Madeira beverage "poncha" and the unique “bolo do caco” cake are served. To ensure your holiday is worry-free, the Dom Pedro Machico hotel also offers an All-Inclusive option: with meals, drinks and activities included. To make your holiday a unique experience Machico is a peaceful town with a variety of traditional restaurants and bars. This Island is the perfect destination for nature lovers, walk along the most beautiful “levadas” and paths of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dom Pedro Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Pedro Baia
Dom Pedro Madeira Machico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing