We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay - wonderful host”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Che

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Main bedroom
Main bedroom with ensuite
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Balcony
Balcony
Balcony
Balcony
Casa Ché: Entrance Hall
Casa Ché: Antique Tiles
Casa Ché: Cycads
Casa Ché: Gallos de Barcelos
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Machico, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kay K
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay - wonderful host”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We had a wonderful 5 days stay at casa che. The appartment is fantastic, furnishing and equipment is top notch and you will everything you´ll need. Cidalia and Kevin are absolutely lovely people, very warm and extraordinary helpful.
There are only two comments: make sure you only rent a very small car to fit into the garage below the appartment. :-) And for the first time it is a bit hard to find because there is no sign at the front door and in the neighboorhood nobody knows anything about "casa che". You will have to ask about "edificio ribeirinho".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigbank
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Casa Che what a gem”
Reviewed March 23, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Beautiful apartment and excellent facilities make Casa Che one of the best we have ever stayed at. The apartment more than lives up to the photos on the website, it is modern, stylish and spotlessly clean, a real gem ! Everything you would want is provided e.g. toiletries, bathrobes washing powder, milk, coffee,tea and much more! Kevin and Cidalia arranged a taxi transfer from the airport and greeted us at the apartment with wine, a delicious light lunch and a really warm welcome. We were given a local mobile phone to use if we needed to contact them and they genuinely wanted to make our holiday enjoyable. The apartment is right in the centre of town close to restaurants shops and buses, which meant we did not need a car
Machico is a small town but has everything necessary for a relaxed holiday. The small sandy beach is an added plus in Madeira and the town has a lovely promenade. Its close proximity to the island's airport was not a problem and we hardly noticed the noise of planes. There is an excellent bus service to Funchal and other parts of the east island and the local taxi drivers are willing to negotiate daily tour rates which can be an easy way to see the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stylish decor
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penguin_l...
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“All You Need, and more, on the doorstep!”
Reviewed February 3, 2012 for a stay in May 2011

I stayed with my elderly parents for a couple of nights at the beginning of May, 2011. Cidalia and Kevin could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The private parking space is very secure but difficult to negotiate. However, Cidalia cared for that little difficulty cheerfully and very swiftly. On entering the apartment we found it to be immaculately clean, which is always a relief, but Cidalia had made our arrival extra special by providing some wine and a delicious snack, all beautifully presented along with a nice touch of a welcome card. We didn't feel like we were just renting for a couple of days but more like being invited in to Cidalia and Kevin's home. Shortly after settling in Kevin came to welcome us and very kindly reassured us that if we had any problems then they were our first port of call. I wish we could have thought of something to test out that offer but really everything has been thought of! There is even a small iPod with a very nice selection of easy-listening music, perfect to accompany dinner or when enjoying a glass of wine on the balcony. We had breakfast on the balcony on both mornings which was rather like having a box at the theatre observing constant scene changes.

The en-suite to the master bedroom is a little small if you need plenty of room to manoeuvre. On reflection, my elderly parents would have been better off with the main bathroom which is ideal. The beds are very comfortable and each bedroom has plenty of wardrobe space.

The kitchen is well-equipped to a very high standard and as it abuts the living room is great for listening to music or just chatting while preparing a meal.

Machico is nice to just wander around, so leave the car and take a walk to the bay or explore the streets to get the feel of the town. It is amazingly unspoilt and but for a modern hotel looks decidedly untouristy. There are plenty of eating places of varying price levels within walking distance as well as a large and a small supermarket quite close by.

On the point of the airport: Unless you require total peace it is really no problem. The "air-traffic" is not constant and is hardly noticeable above the sounds of the bustling town.

I cannot recommend this apartment highly enough and as my work requires a lot of time staying away from home I think I can safely say from experience that this one is in the top five!

Well done, Cidalia and Kevin!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The combination of a stylish place to stay with an at-home feel.
Liked least: The parking place.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2travel4m...
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a full home away from home”
Reviewed September 26, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

location was perfect, in the heart of MACHICO, we walked to dinner to grocery store, pharmacy was around the corner,banking was almost in front the building.
buses and taxis were all near by.
was so so new and clean, equipped with everything we needed.
first day there was a bit of rain,kevin brought us 2 umbrellas,what place does that?
Kevin and Sol greeted us with all the things one needs but didn't have time to get , they evan gave us a cell phone to use while we were there.
yet they gave privacy..
they both are full of information about the madeira, hiking was amazing thanks to Kevin.
we love to stay in small family owned, bed n breakfast places ,this one was right up there as one of our favorites ..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean and new
Liked least: city noise in morning
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norbert L
Mannheim, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles S
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La atención recibida
Liked least: Nada.
Traveling group: Con mi pareja
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing