We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Norfolk
Tannersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was there visiting ODU on a campus visit and the hotel turned out to be great, was a nice surprise. The location was prefect with a few nice restaurants around the hotel and the pool area was clean. I will definitely go back to this hotel when in area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuck g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    49
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
72
13
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel's location was very convenient for me because it was next to the meeting place. The room was spacious and reasonably equipped. The breakfast was awesome! The hotel staff were excellent; helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Being greeted by Hunter at the front desk was great. She was bright and cheerful and very helpful. Got a nice room. Breakfast was free and very nice. Hotel itself was right across campus and close to everything one may want to look at. Shower was hot and the soaps were awesome. We even lucked out With the guest laundry right around the corner. A little noisy outside with a very loud Bridal Party....but no big deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasGirl78253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro,MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice hotel. Very clean. Friendly staff. Free breakfast has a great selection of foods. Large indoor pool. Nice restaurant with room service. The restaurant also has a bar and is open late. Nice area one block behind the hotel for shopping and other restaurants. The hotel is right at the university campus

Room Tip: Rooms facing Hampton Ave have a nicer view but you can here the traffic during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you are looking for a suite, this is not the place for you. Their rooms are not suites. It's simply a hotel room with a sofa instead of the normal chairs. No bath tub. Only a shower. Rude rude staff. Had to wait over an hour past check in time to get in our room bc they were fully booked the night before and weren't able to clean the room in time. Horrible hotel. Poor location. Poor service. Small small pool.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ririjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBLHosp, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're disappointed to see that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel at your earliest convenience so we can figure out exactly what went wrong, and how we can avoid issues like this in the future.

Sincerely,
Lindsey Janssen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is the second time my team made it to tennis districts and stayed at this hotel. It costs more than the recommended hotel that is farther away. However, it is less than 2 miles from the tennis courts which is great for early matches.

There is a sitting area in the room with a fold out couch. There is also a fridge and breakfast is included. Many of the teammates complained that their rooms did not have hot water in the showers and maintenance was addressing it. I did not have this problem. There is a sports bar downstairs which is great for a beer or a quick snack if you don't feel like searching for food. A couple of blocks away there is a tropical smoothie and a few other restaurants.

You pay $5 for parking during your stay and it is a gated parking. One strange thing is you have to use your key card to get to your floor. This is for every floor. I know nothing about the area but this makes me wonder about area surrounding our hotel?

One of my teammates' eyes kept watering during the weekend and thought it could be related to the cleaning products in the hotel. I did not have this issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momdemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I booked this hotel for a one-night break for our long drive down to the Outer Banks in N.C. The lobby and room in the hotel were very clean and comfortable! Free breakfast in the a.m. had lots of variety from waffles, eggs, sausage, yogurt, bagels, cereal,etc. Our clerk upon check in(sorry, cannot remember her name, but she had only worked in this particular hotel for a week was outstanding)! She was super friendly to everyone that walked by or checked in( I was waiting for my husband to park our car in the adjacent garage). We wandered into this area near the hotel where there were lots of nice shops and restaurants. There was even an outdoor concert nearby-fun! Only negatives were the indoor pool was very small and crowded, and although we appreciated the security, you had to scan your room key to go up and down the elevator. Our magnetic strip had to be reloaded twice for a one night's stay. Kids were jumping on the elevators and playing going up and down (waiting for guests to scan their key). Where are parents these days? Overall nice stay.

Room Tip: Don't get a suite near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iloveoc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
2.8 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
7.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
2.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University

Property: SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University
Address: 4500 Hampton Boulevard, Norfolk, VA 23508
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites at Old Dominion University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing