We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel very good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
West Friendship, Maryland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Hotel is clean and well kept. Would stay here again.
Mixed up my room and took 20 min to get in my room. Front desk person was very helpful and beyond nice.

Room was clean. Only Shampoo, and soap in bathroom then only on of each. Parking is a hassle when you check in. You have to park in front of hotel check in and then park.

Otherwise very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    53
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
79
17
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Customer service was terrible. Upon walking into the hotel, the front desk person looked as if she didn't want to be there, she didn't even greet us with a smile. The breakfast team was GREAT, but then there was a confintation with one of the off duty employees who was rude to the children and then I was charged twice for a one night stay. This became a problem with my card company. Never again would I stay at that hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unhappyinnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Convenient to the campus, clean and rooms were well laid out, staff was friendly and respectful. However, there was little or no noise dampening features built into the walls, doors, and/or windows. Three floors up, we could still hear pedestrian heels treading on the side walk (yes windows were secure and latch down). Normal conversation could be heard in the either room to the left or right of us, Normal hallway noise echoed throughout the room. I can’t imagine that Marriott designers would succumb to cost in lieu of meeting customer needs and satisfaction…….. must have been a contractor issue short cutting the design requirements. Nonetheless shame on someone…. Will not stay here again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdt1kayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

We were visiting our son and financee, who live in the Ghent area of Norfolk. This hotel is 1.2miles from their condo. Ghent has a nice array of pubs, bistros, etc. It is a very easy and fast drive from the Springhill Suites. For us, the location was perfect. it was also an easy drive back to I-64 for the trek home. This Springhill Suites is clean and the staff was friendly. Their breakfast is decent. I'd put it on par with the Embassy Suites in Williamsburg if one ignores the cooked to order omelette at Embassy. Parking is in a garage directly across from the hotel. No road to cross, just a drive-in entrance. We were told there was a parking fee and that it would appear on our bill. It did not. I am a Marriott Rewards member and the fee may have been waived. I don't know. Should we return to Norfolk, we will stay in this hotel. The price is right. I should mention that there is only one TV. It is in the front room of the suite. Yes, one could turn it to watch from the bedroom, but it is a bit of a distance from the far bed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Accounting Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

if you are visiting odu, this hotel's location is the main selling point.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat-pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oh
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed here on a Friday night and found the property to be nice enough. I noticed two things I would like to comment on. The furniture in our room on the 4th floor seemed to be worn out. The coffee table had bare wood on it and the sofa seemed to sag in the middle. It just seemed like it had seen a lot of use. The beds seemed small--the front desk clerk said we would have two bed. The beds did not even seem like doubles!! They seemed like a twin and a half!

My other comment would be the breakfast area. The actual food is served in a narrow area. It was very congested and I felt like people were bumping into each other and it was just too narrow. It was not a relaxing way to start the day.

We were just there for one night, so there were no major problems, but I did notice a couple areas that could use some improvement.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank drpc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed here while visiting NS Norfolk, great military rate and close to ODU, Ghent and the very walkable city of Norfolk. Breakfast on Sunday was impressive for hotel fare, The only downside was their copious use of individual plastic containers and lack of recycling. Room was very clean-smelling and furnished nicely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivrguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
7.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
2.8 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University

Property: SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University
Address: 4500 Hampton Boulevard, Norfolk, VA 23508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites at Old Dominion University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing