We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fresh Seafood”
Review of A.W. Shuck's

A.W. Shuck's
Ranked #9 of 704 Restaurants in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Neighborhood homey atmosphere with the freshest seafood. Boat delivers right to this restaurant. Comfortable

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sbt54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    103
    25
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simple, clean, great food.”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

It was a bit hard to find - I was glad we went in the day time. It's tucked away but worth the hunt. Small place. we went at lunch time waited to be seated but after a while of not seeing anyone we went to the bar. Great oyster shooters, and the food was EXCELLENT - perfect portion size. Fresh seafood! Food was really good. Have to go back to try more things!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank fireflaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The oyster place of Norfolk!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Go here when you want to relax and eat oysters. It has a good beer selection as well.

Helpful?
Thank MFxIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is a small neighborhood restaurant with fresh seafood prepared well and priced right. Also a great beer selection. I highly recommend it and I will be back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarasotatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
864 reviews
439 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Biggest Crabcake I've Ever Had”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

And one of the best, with a huge amount of lump crabmeat and very little filler. We also had very good clam chowder and pretty good mac and cheese. Friendly service and a funky atmosphere that says "we're at the beach" but you're not, results in a satisfying meal with good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPBurdell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A.W. Shuck's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing