We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fourteen Advil Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This motel featured the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept on, among other problems. The mattress was so bad that I wound up taking two triple doses of pain medication just to get a couple hours sleep. The towels and linens were old and threadbare. Despite being advertised, there was no free wifi at this motel. The walls were thin, with noise from other guests coming in one wall and noise from the neighboring trailer park coming in the other wall. The continental breakfast was sparse, as was the space where it was served. There was a smattering of positive notes. Everything was clean, and the staff was polite. But there was too much wrong with this motel to ever consider it again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1850ELC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear MikeBHR,

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. I am sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience. We have upgraded our WIFI service in order to better serve our guests. We do maintain our mattresses on a regular basis. We regret that we were not able to meet your needs.

Regards,
Angela-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Norfolk, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 49 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2010

This hotel was utterly disgusting - yeah that's the nicest way to put it. One of the main reasons for staying at this hotel and not the others closer to the beach was the price and the option to have a jacuzzi in the room. Too many problems to name but I'll start a list.

1. At check-in the employee lounge door was open and it was filthy. The entire lobby was disgusting.

2. You had to ask for an (mini) ironing board and iron.

3. You had to pay for ice from the rusty ice machine.

4. The room reeked of smoke and nastiness. Luckily I had some air freshener and febreze in my car.

5. The interior and exterior paint was chipped.

6. The walkways and stairways were gross.

7. We paid more than other guests for the jacuzzi suite and the hotel trash can was right next to our door.

8. On numerous sites it says that this hotel has a view of the ocean when it's 20 minutes from the beach.

9. The pool was dirty and unusable.

10. The bedding was itchy.

A truck revving up its engine woke us up around 7 am. Ridiculous.

While checking out from our one-night stay, a large family was furious about the condition of the hotel and could not get a refund. They were told by management that the hotel was steps away from the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tataylo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Where do I start? It should have been a sign when they gave me my remote control to the television at the desk and also people asking for their money back once the checked in. Being that it was late we decided to stay since we only needed the room for a couple of hours. Trust me when I say I won't be going back and have put them on my "No Return" list. For the amount of money you spend you can add a couple of more dollars for a better hotel. This motel needs major upgrades!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1850ELC, Public Relations & Reservation Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2009

So sorry you were not satisfied but....the tv remotes are kept at the front desk for your convienence. When you are tired and it's late, who wants to spend time searching in an unfamiliar environment trying to find the remote. Most of our guests agree that it's wonderful to have it in hand when entering the room.
Yes you do have the occasional person who requests a refund, after they've been in the room long enough to take a shower,etc....without any problems. This is not acceptable at any motel I know of.

This is an older property, but it has a nostalgic advantage that others do not, you can park right in front of your room, and walk only about 10 ft to your door, this can be an advantage.

No, we are not a 4 star hotel, but the prices are not reflective of such. Instead we are quite economical,and you get a no frills, modern, clean room to stay in. All that need be done is ask, and we will do our very best to accomodate your requests.
We hope you will consider a second stay for us to attempt to correct your unpleasant mindset of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

I arrived in town to visit family without a reservation and I looked at a few motels as I drove from the interstate, some of them were expensive. I came across this one close to where I needed to be. The motel wasalso close to shops and restaurants, only three minutes from the Norfolk International Airport. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very reasonably priced, next time I will make a reservation because I will be back, I enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank san59boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Such a dissappointment!

This hotel is in an area that I didn’t feel safe. They put us in a room overlooking a parking lot and also had a door locked that ajoined to another room. We heard so much noise from the other room. My question is who would put someone in that situation when they are staying almost a week? Very noisy, dirty place in a not-so-safe area. Getting two extra pillows took 2 days. Tried getting a cup of coffee at the continental breakfast. Didn’t happen. Everything was empty 1/2 hour before it closed! This hotel does not deserve even 1 star!!! Very disappointing. I booked this hotel because of all the good reviews I read on the internet. Do not stay here!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flomoonbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

A great place to stay, this hotel is near all major highways (264 & 64)and shopping (Military Highway Mall & Janaff Shopping Center).

The rooms are comfortable, spacious, and clean!
Free continental breakfast every morning, friendly staff, pool, jacuzzi (outdoor not open in the winter); perfect for the entire family.

The hotel does feature a steakhouse.....the food service is poor, the interior was dark and drab, and the food is over priced. Luckily, there are many restaurants close by.


Jeaneen Bodie
Wyld N Wunderful Travel & Entertainment

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wyld_N_Wunderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alyssa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1850ELC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
4.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1850 E Little Creek Rd, Norfolk, VA 23518-4204
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range: $54 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Americas Best Value Inn in Norfolk, Virginia. We are conveniently located across from a shopping center with food shops and restaurants. Our charming six story facility with exterior corridors offers 59 spacious guest rooms and efficiencies. All our guest rooms are furnished with Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Cable TV with HBO, and Wakeup Service. All our Efficiencies are furnished with Kitchenettes. We also have a Guest Laundromat, and a Fax facility on-site. We welcome you to enjoy our crystal clear Outdoor Swimming Pool and our free daily continental breakfast. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours to better serve your needs. Come in and check out the friendly hospitality and the clean rooms we provide our Guests. Whether you are in the area for business or pleasure, you will enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing