We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speakeasy”
Review of Gershwin's

Gershwin's
Ranked #58 of 808 Restaurants in Norfolk
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gershwin's is an upscale, slightly sophisticated bistro featuring American standards (Sinatra) and piano music.
Reviewed January 16, 2016

This restaurant has pictures and memorbila from different speakeasys in the USA. Happy hour on weekdays offer a great menu and dinner menu is quite good as well. The extra treat of piano makes an enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank NYVAItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 107 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2015

We went early on a Monday night for our anniversary. Everybody was great, piano was great, food was great, and of course my dear wife was great. Food was not your "run of the mill" meals. We had French onion soup, salmon, and chicken parmigiana. All was hot when served and prepared superbly. Both main entrees were fixed differently than we had experienced at other restruants. A real treat and will diffently be back.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2015

We had early evening reservations here on a Saturday evening before a show at Chrysler Hall. Since it was only 5:30, it wasn’t very crowded although there were several people at the bar. The pianist was already playing when we walked in. We started with a Gershwin’s salad and a cup of she crab soup. The soup was ok, nothing out of the ordinary. The salad was fresh and crisp. Sticking with the crab theme, I had the crab cake dinner. The cake was loaded with chunks of crab and broiled just right. My wife had the chicken parmesan. The platter was full with a huge chicken breast covered with cheese. She loved it but couldn’t finish it all. We enjoyed the holiday piano music, the food was good and service great.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike353632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2015

Absolute great atmosphere. Loved the set-up, wall decorations/artwork and especially the piano player. Food was OK and reasonably priced. Had the peppercorn New York steak. Well prepared and a nice size portion, but the pommel frites were very limply. My wife had the chicken parmesan. Was a nice size portion and well prepared, but nothing special. Cocktails were well done. I give the pace 6 stars for atmosphere, but only 3 or 4 for the food.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank blackheath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2015

Heavy on the pretension, short on service. I think people are intimidated into thinking this is a quality place because the waiters wear tuxedos, or since they're tourists they don't know any better, but where I come from a place like this would back up the ostentatious decor with high quality service. Big fail.

Date of visit: November 2015
1  Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gershwin's also viewed

 

Been to Gershwin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing