We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spice Galore!”
Review of Sunset Paradise - CLOSED

Sunset Paradise
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Spice Galore!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We relied on Tripadvisor and Yelp for something different and we were not disappointed. After reading reviews, we ordered the coconut shrimp appetizer, mozzarella and tomato salad, root beer ribs, and goat curry. For drinks we had the mauby and sorrel.

The breading for the coconut shrimp was delicious and the sauce complimented it well. The mozzarella and tomato salad was incredible--extremely generous portions of mozzarella cheese (huge!), tomatoes, avocados, and the basic balsamic vinegar dressing was the best I've ever had. It's just different, and very good.

The slow cooker root beer ribs were very good, smothered with spices, and very tender. For sides we got grilled zucchini, yellow rice, and steamed cabbage. The zucchini was cooked perfectly, the yellow rice was just a tad bit dry but still flavorful, and the steamed cabbage was not our thing, but it was recommended.

A reviewer wrote that the goat curry was amazing. We can live without it. It contrasts with the very delicious root beer ribs. The curry was in no way like any traditional curry we have had--it was not european, not Indian, not islander, and not Japanese. I guess it's the Caribbean version of curry. This was ordered with asparagus and yams, and these were okay too.

We Googled the drinks and they both have medicinal properties. However, the sorrel is more palatable than the mauby. The mauby tastes like liquorish in a cup. Ask for a sample.

Service was good, ambiance can be modified (it's a little dark), and the owner/chef came out to talk to us--lovely woman and we told her how wonderfully prepared the dishes were; she's from St. Vincent.

Overall great food and we look forward to returning to this restaurant...next time we will give the chicken a chance to shine!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank exquisitektc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New surprise to norfolk's restaurant choices”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very friendly, fresh, home cooking. Highly recommend as I would hate to lose this do to lack of people knowing about it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TillyT213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Caribbean Cuisine in a Bright, Lively Environment”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Went for lunch with friends and was looking forward to a taste of the Caribbean which our family always enjoys. Owners are from St. Vincent which is made clear through the display of the St. Vincent flag and bright colors in which the interior is painted. Food is made fresh to order so service time was a bit slow ("island time!"), but it was worth the wait. Two of us had the chicken roti were HUGE, one had curried chicken and one had the root beer ribs. Side dishes are traditional Caribbean as well - fried plantains, yams, collards, etc., and the ginger and sorrel drinks were direct from St. Vincent as well. Recommended for a taste of the Caribbean in Norfolk.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
655 reviews
442 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Reasonable Prices, Tasty Food & Menu Broader Than Jerk Chicken”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

While I have only been here twice (its only been opened a couple of weeks), the food has been excellent. Its location is convenient though parking is a bit pressed. Decor is pleasing tropical colors and there is plenty of space. They have homemade entries, desserts, and specialty drinks like ginger beer. Lunch is a great bargain at $6 including an entrée and one side. The sides are tasty and a variety that is pleasing including my favorites spicy cabbage, spicy collards. All of the entries I have tried have been chicken, my choice. But they offered BarBQ chicken, Curry chicken, Jerk chicken on a recent lunch along with crab cake sandwich. They have dishes with tilapia, lobster, shrimp, etc. Must try there 2.99 Homemade Mango/coconut ice cream. Wait staff are yet inexperienced but that is changing quickly. Its a family affair. There are a few vegetarian or vegan items on the menu though no extensive. The menu items seem imaginative and with plenty of variety of different tastes. If you prefer food that is not spicy, simply let them know.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Paradise also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing