We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't always believe the reviews!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 23, 2008

The room itself was nice enough (a little small for a "suite"). The walls were pretty thin as you can every pin drop, toilet flush, etc in the rooms around you. However, the heating unit was insanely loud and woke me you several times a night when it would kick on because it sounded like an engine starting up six feet from your head.

My biggest problem with this hotel was the quality of the service itself. I had to keep going to the counter because FOUR times in a two day stay I had to have my card keys reset because I either couldn't get in the room door or back door to the hotel (which I needed to use because that was where the pet walk area was)....nothing more fun than having to continually walk around a very large building with two dogs in sub-freezing weather because the keys never work..

(1) No one was ever at the front desk and when they finally showed up, (2) instead of being apologetic or helpful, the various front desk staff were barely responsive.

    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 473 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2008

Very nice, clean, large room. Big flat-screen TV. I didn't hear any noise from the hallway or adjoining rooms, however I did hear the occasional rumble of jet airliners taking off from the nearby airport. Overall experience was great!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Island24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

In the past I had stayed at this hotel and found it acceptable but VERY noisy on the road side. They would not move me to the USAA drive side even though I am a Hilton Honors member (just a lowly Silver...).

Today I got "walked" due to overbooking. Walked is where a hotel overbooks and then denies a room to anyone coming after the hotel is full. Yes, this applies even if you have a guaranteed reservation.

The front desk auditor, we will call him "Night Clerk Chuck" (not his real name and yes, I am borrowing from the "Night Clerk Mike" theme from teh powerpoint presentation). Chuck attemped to walk me to the Quality Inn, the #17 hotel on TripAdvisor. I knew that was a bunch of [-------} right away because of the great information on TripAdvisor. He also attempted to walk me to a LaQuinta (not the Inns and Suites, which are actually really nice).

Fortunately I was really upset and questioned why they went with the lower quality hotels and asked if the manager pushed him to do it. He would not confirm or deny it, but after years of playing cards it was painfully obvious. I noted the manager should be fired and seemed to get a smile. Night Clerk Chuck came up with an alternative I asked about, that being the Hilton Garden Inn about 15 minutes down the road in VA beach.

The hotel has some really good staff in "Chuck and Hey" (not their real names) but I highly question it's management staff and the way they run their hotel.

Normally a hotel manager or assistant manager will attempt to contact someone when they are overbooked, particularly previous guests and Honors members. Guess that is why it is a Hampton and not an HGI or Hilton. Mariott Courtyard will do it and Hilton Garden Inn will do it, even putting people up in the flagship hotels at their expense.

This was a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank flyguybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Stayed overnight on a business trip in June 2008. Hotel was located conveniently to the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel, directly off Route 13, near the airport. The hotel shares a parking lot with the Hilton, the parent chain. Because of that, this Hampton is the first I have seen to offer room service. Room service was also reasonably priced, the same menu price as the restaurant in the Hilton with $2 delivery charge and 10% tip. The menu was comparable to chains such as Applebees, TGI Fridays, et al., with comparable pricing. The hotel has an indoor pool and a room with 3 exercise machines. Breakfast is the standard Hampton Inn continental breakfast bar with a hot egg dish in addition to an assortment of fruit, pastry, bagels, juices and cereal. My room was a king and was very well appointed. The room had a large walk-in shower rather than a tub and a high definition TV. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I will not hesitate to stay here again when I am visiting the area.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank douglasrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Stayed here for one night after a trip to the Hampton Roads area. The hotel is pretty new- I think it was built in 2007. It was a good value, we paid under 100 per night and the hotel was nice and clean and really convenient to the Norfolk Airport. It's also near a street that has a few shopping centers and mally/shopping center type restaruants.

A word of warning the breakfast offered was kinda lame. Better than stale bagels and dry croissants but still pretty lame.

Bottom line, definitely a good value.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank the_real_flipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Above average Hampton Inn close to airport. It was a little noisy - ask for a room not facing the major road. Large breakfast area with traditional continental breakfast. Rooms clean and large bathrooms with granite countertops.

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank 65BlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Thank you Trip Advisor. I was originally staying at the Hilton or the Doubletree but after reading reviews on this site I switched to Hampton Inn. That was a great move. This is a very nice hotel!

This is relatively new hotel with the new Hampton Inn design. The lobby featured an atrium with adjacent breakfast area. The first floor also had a business center. They even had a small shop on site (ala Stay Bridge Suites) which was great! This location has an indoor pool which looked standard hotel size. I didn’t use it. I did use the gym. It consisted of a couple of treadmills and an elliptical machine. Not bad as hotel gyms go.

Rooms where very well laid out with a newer TV, excellent beds and a nice size working desk. All very functional for the B-traveler. The bathroom was outstanding! Over the room was impressive.

Located in an office park there is not many shops with in walking but many near by on Military highway. Over all the location was convenient to the interstate and the airport. I traveled to the Norfolk Navy base in less than 10 minutes.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank oldensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport

Address: 1511 Usaa Dr, Norfolk, VA 23502-5502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $115 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport Hotel Norfolk
Hampton Inn And Suites Norfolk-Airport
Hampton Inn Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing