We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

From the first weekend that they opened to now, I have enjoyed my stay here. When I am in the area this is my favorite place to stay. Easy access to the highway. comfortable beds, sizeable rooms, good breakfast and very quiet.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayH1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your continued business over the years. While I am new to the property I love to hear from our guests who continue to stay with us. It sounds like we are have been exceeding your expectations and I will strive to continue that in the future. Please let me know if there is anything we can do to make your stay great in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thanks again! -Richard Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    126
    47
    15
    17
See reviews for
148
67
40
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Excellent Hotel. Staff were very courteous and friendly. Beds were comfortable. Front desk clerk was very enthusastic. Complimentary Breakfast staff was very helpful and friendly. Would loved to have had some scrambled eggs with cheese and bacon. Did not care for the western omelet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit such a positive review! We sincerely appreciate your business and I’m glad that everything went so well for you. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to further assist. We truly look forward to serving your corporate and personal travel needs again in the future. I regret to here you were disappointed with your omelet. We vary our selection daily, but let me know when you are in town next; I will try to make it a scrambled egg and bacon day.
Thanks again! -Richard Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

at this hotel for a quick overnight business trip. arrived late. half of the cable channels inoperative....no big deal. The next morning I went to fitness center to find that all equipment was either inoperative or dangerous to use because they were broken. The response from the desk when i reported this as i was leaving was, "yeah, we know, been that way for a while and new equipment is on order but if you had asked we could have given you a guess pass to the nearby Hilton"....not a very professional response.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of our fitness facility. As you stated, we have ordered new equipment and we are awaiting delivery. We again apologize for the poor level of service you received and we hope you will come visit us in the future. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was on a business trip so had to stay for 4 nights. They provided the most excellent customer service. The associates were very friendly especially even the housekeeping. I will always now on choose to stay at Hampton.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ag231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here the first week in December on business. I've never been to this Hampton and was not disappointed. It's in a convenient location right off I-64 and Military Highway/US13. It shares part of its parking lot with the Hilton next door and as a result there is more than ample parking available.

The staff are friendly and efficient. The rooms are standard Hampton but lack mini-fridges. When I'm staying for more than one night, it's most helpful to have that fridge as I like to keep fruit and juice at hand in my room. I assume each Hampton franchisee has the option as to whether or not to place them in the rooms as I've encountered several Hamptons over the years without the fridges. Otherwise, everything was crisp, clean and fresh. I will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlyland, USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Convenient to I64 and airport. Rude night check in clerk, but all other staff I met were very friendly. Even numbered rooms face a very busy street. I'm not a light sleeper, and it still woke me up several times and morning traffic was busy and fast even on saturday morning. Try to get an odd numbered room if this is a concern.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4plus2equals6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This really is somewhere between 3 and 4 "Circle" hotel. But this Hampton Inn does enough of the little stuff right to warrant a Very Good rating.
The bedding is very nice, and a placard says that the duvet covers and sheets are washed before every stay, which - I admit - I appreciated: I sometimes wonder about that. The mattress was very comfortable, and the room was...roomy. Everything was clean.
The staff was very friendly, especially the woman tending the morning breakfast bar, which is included for free. The breakfast was better than the usual free breakfasts I have had at other places. Check in was fast and efficient on Thanksgiving Eve. The shuttle from the airport was quick. Internet was complimentary.
Two things to nit-pick: First, the room was definitely on the older side. There was a gouge in the wall, and the ugly gold wallpaper in the bathroom showed its age. In addition, the king bed FACED the window, so you have to really work to shut the drapes to keep the bright VA morning sunshine out of your eyes.
Overall, I was satisfied. My aunt used her Hilton points to book me this room for $56, which is a very good deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kabbagehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Address: 1511 Usaa Dr, Norfolk, VA 23502-5502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Norfolk-Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport Hotel Norfolk
Hampton Inn Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing