We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Hampton Close to Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Above average Hampton Inn close to airport. It was a little noisy - ask for a room not facing the major road. Large breakfast area with traditional continental breakfast. Rooms clean and large bathrooms with granite countertops.

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank 65BlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 473 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2008

Thank you Trip Advisor. I was originally staying at the Hilton or the Doubletree but after reading reviews on this site I switched to Hampton Inn. That was a great move. This is a very nice hotel!

This is relatively new hotel with the new Hampton Inn design. The lobby featured an atrium with adjacent breakfast area. The first floor also had a business center. They even had a small shop on site (ala Stay Bridge Suites) which was great! This location has an indoor pool which looked standard hotel size. I didn’t use it. I did use the gym. It consisted of a couple of treadmills and an elliptical machine. Not bad as hotel gyms go.

Rooms where very well laid out with a newer TV, excellent beds and a nice size working desk. All very functional for the B-traveler. The bathroom was outstanding! Over the room was impressive.

Located in an office park there is not many shops with in walking but many near by on Military highway. Over all the location was convenient to the interstate and the airport. I traveled to the Norfolk Navy base in less than 10 minutes.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank oldensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Location: Great. Close to airport, shopping malls and resturants.

Occasion for Stay: Stayed here for business.

Room: Because of my Hilton Honors Diamond status, I received an upgrade to a suite. Room was excellent. Plenty of room, large LCD screen TV , and fridge. The room was well appointed, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Cleanliness: Room was spotless.

Service: Friendly front desk crew.


Food: Standard Hampton Inn breakfest.

Parking: Plenty of free parking.

Shuttle Service: Didn’t use.

I highly recommend this property.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank USMC_Retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2007

I often travel to the Norfolk area on business and have stayed at most of the Hilton properties in the area. This hotel opened during 2007 so is relatively new. Compared to the Hamton Inn Virginia Beach this is much nicer, and has some rooms that are suites which are bigger than a standard room with a small living room area and also a small kitchen type area. I was upgraded to one of these rooms due to my Diamond Level status, even though I was staying at the government rate of $94/night. It is fine for staying on business, but I wouldn't recommend it for someone staying on vacation other than it is on Military Highway so is near a lot of places to eat and shopping centers. For business stay it is fine though.

The breakfast is the standard free breakfast that the Hampton Inns have, and for free you can't really complain. I have stayed at the Hilton Hotel next door and in my opinion it is not really as nice - it is much older and while recently renovated - the rooms really aren't all that great. This hotel has HD LCD TV's (I think 37" but forget exactly the size) in each room, as an example. Also the beds are very nice and comfortable. The Hilton has nice beds, but the rooms still are somewhat older in appearance. Also at the Hilton, unless you are a Gold or Diamond Level member and have access to the member lounge, you won't get any free breakfast.

Compared to the Hampton Inn in Virginia Beach just 4 miles south (really on the edge of Virginia Beach closest to Norfolk) it is much nicer. There is also a Hampton Inn up near the Norfolk Naval Base - but I only stayed there one time for one night when I couldn't get in any place else - and definitely don't recommend that one - it is not in a very good part of town and was very noisy the night I stayed there.

Of course, for non Hilton chain properties there are plenty of other hotels which are just as nice or nicer - either nearby or closer to Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fdeitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2007

We had a party of 12 staying here the first week in Dec. This hotel is fairly new so the ambience was nice as were the beds. The room, however, were not as nice. Several things in my room were brok (i.e., the toilet paper holder).

This Hampton DOES NOT change your sheets daily unless specifically requested. Even then you are not guaranteed as I requested and my sheets did not get changed, only the bed was made up.

Breakfast in the morning was okay...nothing to write home about.

I was placed in a room that faced the busy street, therefore, you better be accustomed to sleeping through noise if you end up in one of these rooms.

Customer service there was totally awful. The front desk manager was rude and uncoperative.

Do yourself a favor and spend your money somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SoloHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

I stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites- Norfolk Airport for one night on a business trip in May. I could not find any reviews of the hotel online, so I was a little leary, but most of the other area hotels were booked- so I gave it a shot. I was very pleasantly surprised. The Hampton appears to be very new, though I'm not sure exactly when it opened. The room was the largest I have ever had at a Hampton Inn (and I've stayed at close to 20 Hamptons). Everything was spotlessly clean and in great condition. It was definitely a good value for the price. The location was close to the highway, with several restaurants in short driving distance. It was ideally situated for me, being on a business trip. However, it might not be the best location for someone on vacation, since it's not particularly close to the beach or touristy stuff.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank creamsicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tobias E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport

Address: 1511 Usaa Dr, Norfolk, VA 23502-5502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $116 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport Hotel Norfolk
Hampton Inn And Suites Norfolk-Airport
Hampton Inn Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing