We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Absolute Worst. Avoid this place.”

Savannah Suites Norfolk
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Savannah Suites Norfolk
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Absolute Worst. Avoid this place.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed at Savannah Suites Norfolk for two nights, and it was the absolute worst for several reasons.

1. The AC did NOT work. When I opened the door, there was an unwelcoming scene. The AC cover was on the ground and I could see the old, rusty inside of the AC. Maintenance came up to try to put the cover back on, but couldn't because part of the cover was broken. Maintenance told me to "just put something underneath." Even worse, I later discovered that the AC did not work. At best, it was a fan that gave off lukewarm air.

2. The bathtub drain was CLOGGED.

3. Front Desk: Unfriendly, Unprofessional, and Poor Communicators. When I called the front desk to notify that the AC did not work and that the bathtub drain was clogged, I was told that maintenance will come shortly. Fifteen minutes passed with no visit, so I called again. Then I was told, maintenance people went home and that they will make a visit the next day. The next day, maintenance did NOT make a visit.

4. This was the worst of all: my door did NOT LOCK. The door was EASILY opened from the outside. On my way out, I pushed the doorknob down to double check if it was locked. I was shocked because the door opened. The card reader thing that is supposed to function as a lock had no point.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    3
    4
    24
See reviews for
10
6
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I had bed bugs the room still has them. Everytime I would brinf towels and sheets downstairs they were never clean ones. I dont unserstand how there isnt eniugh linen and towels for everyone I would wait all day for linen and towels. There are loud people fussing and fighting all night. The staff is rude at times and openly complains. I stayed until I couldnt anymore because I had no where else to go

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meanone52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

It's an insult to the hotel industry for this so called establishment to be called a hotel! The room smelled like cat urine, the cupboards were dirty, the elevator did not work (and they put us up on the 4th fl with kids and my father who is handicapped) and there were flies in the room! Good thing we got a refund, even if this room was free I would still not take it! I would be more comfortable in the car!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Souvenirs_de_famille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Me, the hubby and all 3 kids stayed at this hotel in Norfolk to be close to grandparents this past week. The rooms were comfortable enough and we felt safe.

The location is fantastic making it easy for us to visit the ocean front with little effort of finding the interstate and the shopping nearby was great. Wal-Mart is only five minutes away!

It was a little annoying to not have wireless, but the internet was fast and the table and chairs set near the connect made it tolerable.

Great prices is by far the biggest draw, so my family will use this hotel again when we come back to Norfolk.

Room Tip: Bring a internet cord if you plan to use the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegetaswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here for a few months for college and they were alright. The people at the desk seemed clueless all of the time. My keys happened to fall down the elevator shaft (like how does that happen?) Cause it has a huge hole between the elevator and the floor. Well that's where my keys have been for the past 2 months. They haven't tried the least bit to give me my keys back. Other than that, they're okay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarDoee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afarmerss, Guest Relations Manager at Savannah Suites Norfolk, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of Savannah Suites Norfolk. I trust the hotel has been in contact since your review was posted to notify you that your keys have been retrieved. I apologize for the delay and on behalf of Savannah Suites, welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was very pleased with this hotel that had fridge, stove, microwave, nice size bathroom and a nice room and comfy bed.
the staff was really nice and knowledgable, most of them. the two ladies that helped us was very nice. very reasonably priced and I hoping next year when I come for my cousins wedding that we will be able to stay there again and it still be just as nice and affordable.
The one thing that will make this great is a indoor pool! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMGMAGDtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

this hotel has to be the worst establishment that i have ever in my life rested my head in. First of all the staff is very unprofessional, management more so than front desk. The desk clerks seemed as if it was a burden to assist me each time i approached the desk, from check in to check out and every time in between. The lobby was poorly maintained, the elevator was down the first 3 days of my 7 night stay. It started working again for 2 days, then went back out for the remaining 2 days. The room was standard for the most part until we went to turn back the sheets and there was seemed to be a dry yellowish stain on the flat sheet. Asked the front desk if they had any new sheets and she that she had some in the dryer and that i needed to bring my dirty sheets down. NO PROBLEM... 4 hours later still no sheets. Long story short, i finally received my sheets from the NIGHT ATTENDANT at almost midnight.

Notified management the next morning of the situation (Tequila was her name i believe) she nonchalantly apologized for my inconvenience and assured me that new linen would be prepared for my room.

Later that night we had just come in from a family outing and walked into the room turned on the lights and 3 roaches went scattering.

Needed new towels and once again it took forever to finally receive them. ...Horrible week!

Room Tip: Do not consider this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
3.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#23 of 37 in Norfolk
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Suites at Lake Wright
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Suites Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Suites Norfolk

Property: Savannah Suites Norfolk
Address: 5649 Lowery Rd, Norfolk, VA 23502-2220
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Savannah Suites Norfolk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Suites Extended Stay Hotel in Norfolk is conveniently located at the intersection of Military Highway and Lowery Road less than 1.5 mile I–64 and 1 mile from I-264.Our hotel is furnished with Full Kitchens, a Fitness Room, a 24 Hour Guest Laundry Room, Free High Speed Internet and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Savannah Suites Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing