We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tear this dump down”

Savannah Suites Norfolk
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savannah Suites Norfolk
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I had to spend one night in Norfolk before I flew out and wanted a place for about 10 hours. By skimping on price I put myself in probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed at that was rated 3-star by hotels.com

i would not stay here again and would request the city tear this roach motel down.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afarmerss, Public Relations Manager at Savannah Suites Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Thank you for your review of our Savannah Suites Norfolk. Typically reviews allow our hotels to improve our amenities and services for future travelers. We sincerely apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. Specific complaints and suggestions are much more valuable and we welcome all guests to bring issues up to our Guest Service Representatives or our Management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Savannah Suites Norfolk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 37 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

obviously this is a place where pimps,hoes, drug dealers and whatever riff raff you can imagine meet up and socialize..ALL night...babies crying doors slamming totally disgusting.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wetravela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afarmerss, Public Relations Manager at Savannah Suites Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Thank you for your review of our Savannah Suites Norfolk. We sincerely apologize that your stay was not completely satisfactory. We work diligently with the Norfolk Police Department to ensure that our hotel is a safe environment for our staff and guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed at Savannah Suites Norfolk July 4th weekend after family made the reservations. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again!!! The front desk staff were pleasant and the location is wonderful but that is all the good there is about this place. The hotel is filthy, the rooms are filthy, the sheets are rough and thin and not clean, the cleaning staff were more concerned about talking on cell phones than cleaning!! My bathroom was dirty, sheets were not clean and the fridge smelled terribly!! There is no lobby, no pool and with condition of all the rooms i visited (4 total) none were comfortable enough to even sit in much less sleep in. Take my warning and KEEP AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDG4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afarmerss, Public Relations Manager at Savannah Suites Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Thank you for your review of our Savannah Suites Norfolk. We are delighted that you were impressed with our Guest Service staff and our location. Since July, we have had the opportunity to “refresh” our housekeeping staff, as well as step up our inspections of our hotel and guest rooms, thanks in large part to your review. All available guest rooms are inspected daily by the hotel’s General Manager, and weekly by our Vice President of Operations. We invite you to try our hotel again the next time you are in Norfolk, Virginia to experience first-hand how your review has improved our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Quality hotel, we stayed there 3 nights and had no real complaints. The fitness center was a plus, a little small, but provided me with everything I needed to get my daily fitness in. I was not expecting to be able to do laundry at the hotel, but the 24hr laundry room allowed me to wash my travel shirts for my appropriate flights. The high-speed Internet was good, a lot better than other hotels I have stayed in the area. Overall, great value for your money, everyone was friendly and willing to hell. I would return again and I do recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dillabough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afarmerss, Public Relations Manager at Savannah Suites Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Thank you for your review of our Savannah Suites Norfolk. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you travel to Virginia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We checked in last night into room 112, the sheets were obviously dirty with pubic hair on them! We complained and were moved to room 115, and again the sheets were dirty with hair all over the pillowcases and a corn pad from someones foot inside the sheets, There was a roach in the bathroom. The place is NASTY and I could have stayed in a shelter and been in a cleaner place. I was afraid to go to sleep here!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1wvgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

I checked into this hotel on Thanksgiving Day. My husband had brought me to this hotel because it advertised extended stay specials and the ad said it had pots and pans(which it did NOT) and so many other amenities. My husband and I thought it would be a good place for me until I was able to find an apartment for while he was deployed.....BOY WERE WE WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The first night was ok. The next day I started noticing a lot of things that should NOT be....the windows were screwed shut, there was black mold all over the place, there were hookers in and out and drug dealers in and out and people with guns.....I am quite certain the people with guns did not have a license to carry a gun because there was no holster and they were quite obviously dealing drugs!!!!!! I immediately called my husband and told him what was going on. Unfortunately I had to wait until pay day December 1st to get out of there. The day before pay day I wound up in the emergency room due to the black mold. While i was in this dumpster called a hotel I would have to shower 4-5 times a day and that did NOT help get me clean. The staff was EXTREMELY rude and the noise was to the point it was NOT tolerable.
I am now in the process of filing a complaint with the health department about this place and I am also filing a complaint with the corporate office.....oh and just so you know it is a serious inconvience to contact the corporate office by phone because all you get is an answering machine and they NEVER return calls.
My husband, myself and several friends are going to be speaking with JAG lawyers about having Savannah Suites Black Listed so that no other military family will have to endure what I had to endure.
Do yourself a favor and either go to the Candlewood Suites directly across the street or another hotel....DO NOT STAY AT SAVANNAH SUITES......SAVE YOUR HEALTH!!!
On pay day my husband and I got me a room at the Candlewood Suites and I have since started to feel better and been clean. The staff here is absolutely amazing and when I was introduced to people I was NOT introduced as a customer but as family. So please I say this again.....DO NOT STAY AT SAVANNAH SUITES

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank armywife78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The room was really nice...If I had to say anything bad it would be the fridge was dirty. The front desk staff was very unprofessional. They had friends visiting them while they were working. My friend and I slept really good the room comes with everything you would ever need (stove, microwave, ect.). For the price it was worth it I just wish it had a pool.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trina8705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport
1.6 mi away
Quality Suites at Lake Wright
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Suites Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Suites Norfolk

Address: 5649 Lowery Rd, Norfolk, VA 23502-2220
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range: $69 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Savannah Suites Norfolk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Suites Extended Stay Hotel in Norfolk is conveniently located at the intersection of Military Highway and Lowery Road less than 1.5 mile I–64 and 1 mile from I-264.Our hotel is furnished with Full Kitchens, a Fitness Room, a 24 Hour Guest Laundry Room, Free High Speed Internet and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Savannah Suites Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing