We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norfolk Botanical Garden

Norfolk Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
$41.90*
and up
Norfolk Passport to Fun
Ranked #3 of 65 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

In November, when there are not many things to see in Botanical garden, we had a great experience in that garden. Very charming and nice, lots of different sections and paths. Beautiful!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lerotchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    134
    24
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Must see for Christmas Lights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I visited the park for Garden of Lights, so my review is only around that. I reached the park at 5:45 PM (the lights start at 5:30 PM). The lined moved pretty quickly. The entry was 20$ per car during the weekend (they ONLY accept cash). The entire drive takes about 40-45 minutes (~2 miles of lights). If you haven't seen anything like this before, you would be amazed.

I had an opportunity to visit similar light fest in Tanglewood Park (Clemmons, NC) and this was almost as good as that. The entry per car was double than that, but oh well.

The restrooms are located at the beginning in case you need to make a pit stop for that. They also have kettle corn available almost at the entrance. They didn't have a sign to turn off the headlights, but apparently, most folks in the line behind me were sensible enough to do that on their own.

It is definitely worth it if you live in that area, but not something that I would want to drive an hour for.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank joshmilind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Year round gem (love the holiday lights!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I have been to the garden in the spring and it was a great outing. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. I can't wait to return.

However, what stole my heart was our winter visit. The holiday lights are spectacular! Lights are literally draped from the trees (Avatar style) and the festive lighted decorations are great.

This would be a great trip for any family including ours (all adults)!

Just please, turn your lights off when traveling through. It makes it so much better for the people ahead of you!

Helpful?
Thank bazrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed ! Nature lovers and bird watchers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is one of my favorite places on the planet, something is blooming year round in the garden, plenty of trails for walking and jogging. Greenhouse, tram ride year round and boat rides in the summer months. Lot's of classes and activities year round. Don't miss this wonderful, magical place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nancysteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The Christmas is Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

While visiting the family we visited the Christmas light show. This show was very nice for the entire family. Even my 2.5 year old grandson enjoyed it. It is a drive through event and very affordable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 462World_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norfolk Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Norfolk Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing