We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer bike rides!”

Norfolk Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.00*
and up
Norfolk Passport to Fun
Ranked #3 of 67 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Summer bike rides!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

During the summer, on certain afternoons, the Garden opens its main, paved trails to bicycle traffic. Its not your typical outing which is what makes it so great. Park your bikes and walk some of the foot paths, too. There's always something new to see. My husband and I look forward to these bike nights every year.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyPeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    139
    25
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Stop what you are doing and go now!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Entrance at the gate is $11 for adults, $10 active duty and seniors and I don't remember how much kids are. If you are a local: BUY THE MEMBERSHIP THIS PLACE IS AWESOME!

The gardens are over 100 acres and you could spend all day here easily. I would suggest bringing a picnic and sitting in either the sculpture garden or the pond area. If you have stroller sized babies or kids this would be a fantastic place to stroll around and relax.

We went after reading the good reviews on trip advisor. The advice from the front desk was great when we walked in blind. She suggested we walk through the Rose garden, then circle back through the Japanese garden and on to the Hydrangea garden- which was in riotous bloom! Then we went on the tram ride which takes you around the park in about 20 minutes and serves as a hop on hop off for the outlying areas. We spent only about 2 hours in the park because for me it was way too hot outside. If we had known more we could have planned ahead much better with water and hats and sunscreen.

For kids there is a "pirate ship" sand play area with lots of shade and chairs for adults. There is also an area just for kids with a wading pool in the center of the park. There were lots of families there and it seemed to be an amazing place.

There are water fountains scattered through the park as well as two restroom facilities and a cafe.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“WOW. Gardener's heaven!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have been to many botanic gardens, and this is my all-time favorite. There is a free tram ride, a modest-fee for a boat tour through their canal and out into the lake. There are MANY different areas, they could have 7 weddings here at once! They have just about every kind of perennial you can think of, from an incredibly large rose garden to a formal sunken Japanese garden, a Hydrangea garden, a perennial garden, a Colonial garden, many fountains in beautifully landscaped areas. They also have a children's discovery area with splash fountains, and other activities. SO MUCH TO VISIT!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pythonesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Rose Garden”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The bicentennial rose garden was at its peak bloom for our visit. It is extraordinary. The entire botanical garden is a beautiful place to visit. Take a tram ride or a boat ride on the lake.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited the garden towards the end of May. We enjoyed the free tram ride that took us through the garden. You can get on and off the tram at the various stops or ride through the entire park and then walk back to any areas that you would like to explore further. Some varieties of flowers and flowering trees had already blossomed, but there were still plenty of beautiful flowers, including the roses, that were in full bloom. Very beautiful garden!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stella306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norfolk Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Norfolk Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing