We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Zoo

Virginia Zoo
Book In Advance
$42*
and up
Norfolk Passport to Fun
Ranked #5 of 62 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a great place to visit. Very interesting assortment of animals and amphibians especially for our local area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AIRBOY5900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    195
    68
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Beautiful zoo! There is a wide array of animals. I saw a tiger, ostriches, giraffes, elephants, orangoutangs, birds, and more! The scenery is beautiful, I really enjoyed the gardens. Spend the $2 and go for the train ride. It is a nice peaceful ride, and you learn more about the zoo. It goes by quickly, but worth it. They sell food, nothing fancy, hotdogs, hamburgs, pizza, ect. The real attraction is seeing the animals and enjoying the beauty if nature. Plan to be there a few hours. There are shaded areas, but I would recommend going on a day where it isn't too hot. You will be walking a lot, so plan accordingly. Animals seem to be well cared for. I really enjoyed it, and will definitely return! You will definitely want to go visit the goats, that is hands on, and you'll see the most beautiful peacock, as well!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank StephanieSelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great attraction! A bit of everything here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We found this place to have great value and a wonderful place to spend the afternoon! Our encounters with the lion, lioness, tiger and orangutan made this the highlight of our vacation! I highly recommend a visit, it was a great experience. Food shacks and places to buy drinks exist throughout the zoo. Bring an umbrella if rain is expected. Very nice zoo!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella_desiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting way to spend an afternoon.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I went with my husband one afternoon. Unfortunately we went the same weekend as a business function that was holding an event day there so it was a tad busier than I'd like. The layout of the zoo was inviting with numerous attractions, some of which were sadly closed due to upcoming changes. In comparison to other large city zoo's this one seemed a tad lacking but it is still a fun way to spend an afternoon. The prices are reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

There is a great selection of animals and when we went they were pretty active. Make sure you don't go when it's too hot because the animals will mostly just hide in the shade. We watched two bears play/fighting for a solid 15 minutes - it was awesome. I definitely recommend visiting if you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing