We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME”
Review of Virginia Zoo

Virginia Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.00*
and up
Norfolk Passport to Fun
Ranked #5 of 71 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Went a few months ago, I have driven by it a thousand times since my last visit in elementary school. We wont say when that was.
I was so surprised to see this wonderful Zoo that I had taken for granted for a long time. An amazing set up .. Geared to everyone of all ages.. Kids were all having a blast..
Can't wait to go back.. I promise it wont be that long again!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Petevabch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    233
    80
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Zoo!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My family loved this zoo. It was very clean, beautifully landscaped, the exhibits allowed you to get close enough to really see the animals, and it was large enough to be worth the money but it didn't take all day. I will definitely be back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jessica d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a great, underrated zoo tucked into the corner of the state. I don't know if it's because there are so many families in the area, but it's a FAR better zoo than you'd expect from such a small urban area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We always visit zoo, everywhere. That one was one of the best experience, because it happened in November and animals were not hiding neither sleeping. We saw everyone! It's not very big but very charming place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lerotchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“its kids excitement place”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

very nice place to visit with your kids and childrens,. animals, little - train ,garden is woonderful
kids teens elders and seniors every one can enjoy,

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kartik p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing