We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Zoo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Zoo

Virginia Zoo
Book In Advance
$42*
and up
Norfolk Passport to Fun
Ranked #5 of 62 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My family loved this zoo. It was very clean, beautifully landscaped, the exhibits allowed you to get close enough to really see the animals, and it was large enough to be worth the money but it didn't take all day. I will definitely be back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jessica d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    192
    68
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a great, underrated zoo tucked into the corner of the state. I don't know if it's because there are so many families in the area, but it's a FAR better zoo than you'd expect from such a small urban area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We always visit zoo, everywhere. That one was one of the best experience, because it happened in November and animals were not hiding neither sleeping. We saw everyone! It's not very big but very charming place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lerotchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“its kids excitement place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

very nice place to visit with your kids and childrens,. animals, little - train ,garden is woonderful
kids teens elders and seniors every one can enjoy,

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kartik p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Maybe better than the National Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Took my husband on a private behind the scenes visit with the lions. Awesome! The zoo is much smaller than National Zoo in DC, of course, but I think I liked the visit more. The animals are SO well kept and beautiful. The viewing areas are very close and creative, and the habitats are lovely. The zoo is well laid out and so incredibly pleasant to wander around. They have lovely gardens as well. The parking is easy. The only difficult part was finding it - my iPhone Google Map couldn't ID the entrance, and the zoo's web site doesn't have good directions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jessicajds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing