We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the family”
Review of Virginia Zoo

Virginia Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.00*
and up
Norfolk Passport to Fun
Ranked #5 of 71 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a great, underrated zoo tucked into the corner of the state. I don't know if it's because there are so many families in the area, but it's a FAR better zoo than you'd expect from such a small urban area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    230
    79
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We always visit zoo, everywhere. That one was one of the best experience, because it happened in November and animals were not hiding neither sleeping. We saw everyone! It's not very big but very charming place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lerotchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“its kids excitement place”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

very nice place to visit with your kids and childrens,. animals, little - train ,garden is woonderful
kids teens elders and seniors every one can enjoy,

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kartik p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Maybe better than the National Zoo”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Took my husband on a private behind the scenes visit with the lions. Awesome! The zoo is much smaller than National Zoo in DC, of course, but I think I liked the visit more. The animals are SO well kept and beautiful. The viewing areas are very close and creative, and the habitats are lovely. The zoo is well laid out and so incredibly pleasant to wander around. They have lovely gardens as well. The parking is easy. The only difficult part was finding it - my iPhone Google Map couldn't ID the entrance, and the zoo's web site doesn't have good directions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jessicajds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great place to take the whole family!!! Something for everyone and especially magical for the little ones!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsLynch84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing