We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Wonderful Zoo!”
Review of Virginia Zoo

Virginia Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.00*
and up
Norfolk Passport to Fun
Ranked #5 of 70 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
U S A
Level Contributor
270 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful Zoo!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a wonderful place to spend a few hours. So clean and the animals look so happy and taken care of. Although we live on the west coast we do look forward to returning some day. Keep up the great work!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank averyfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    220
    77
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the DC zoo, but definitely the among the best of Norfolk!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Norfolk doesn't have as much to offer as it's Hampton Roads counterparts, but their zoo is definitely a highlight of their more crowning achievements! Would definitely recommend. Free for ODU students!

Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A zoo for everyone!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Loved this zoo! Beautiful scenery, unusual (and some usual) animals, great places for snacks, wonderful staff. Can't wait to visit again!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful small zoo!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Over the years the Virginia Zoo has transformed itself. Large areas for animals in their habitate. The new addition of the Asia Trail of the Tiger just opened! There is so much for children and adults alike. A train ride going behind the scenes, sculptures, play areas and wonderful open areas to climb and run.

The zoo is almost finished with the fund raising for a large new area for Vetenary and wellness center when people can see (Behind glass ) what is being prepared for animal meals and animals during their vet visits.

Be sure to go online and see the animals our zoo offers. If you have not been there in "Years" then you will be amayzed at the improvements.

Have fun and enjoy the Norfolk Zoo.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryMeyer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Membership worth it”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I would be mad if I bought tickets to this zoo on a family vacation and made it a stop. But as locals we buy membership passes and go through out the year. It is nice to pack a lunch and let the kids run around and play and see the animals.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Virginia Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing