We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A giant park with an animal or two thrown in” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virginia Zoo

Virginia Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.00*
and up
Norfolk Passport to Fun
Ranked #5 of 68 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A giant park with an animal or two thrown in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My 2-year-old loves zoos/animals. So every time we're on vacation, we find a day to visit a local zoo. The Virginia Zoo in Norfolk is perhaps one of the worst Zoos we've ever visited. If you like open green space, flowers and water fountains, then it's a great place to visit. If you like animals, don't waste your time.

As other reviewers mentioned VERY few of the exhibits in the zoo actually contained animals. Most were empty enclosures or closed down completely for "refurbishment". I could probably count the number of animals we saw during our 2-hour trip on one hand and several the walking paths dead-ended, making us double-back along the same empty encloses twice.

Complete waste of money and time. But hey, parking was free, - that's gotta be worth something, right? If you're in the Virginia Beach area, I'd highly recommend you skip this and head over to Hunt Club Farm where you'll see many more animals for a fraction of the price.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank siburjunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    209
    73
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IL
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“not as good as other zoos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

we walked the entire zoo in 3 hours...this included all exhibits, a train ride and lunch...
lunch was ok. it took 15 minutes for my son's corn dog to cook...annoying!
many exhibits were closed and under construction.
I felt soooo bad for the elephants. they were in a small enclosure and could barely turn around with the 2 of them in there. no one was even there working on the new exhibit...made me angry to see. farm area was closed. other animal exhibits had just 1-2 animals and you could never find them in the exhibit. we did see and LOVE one red panda.
this zoo doesn't compare with brookfield and san diego zoos...but we did like all of the gardens throughout the zoo.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RMAmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Where's the animals?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I went on Sunday. I saw only a few animals. Most of the animals were either sleeping in the shade or not in their enclosures. The Barnyard and the elephants enclosure were closed for renovations. Very disappionted. On days like that, I think the zoo should charge half price admission.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank yvonne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money or your time!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The zoo has very few animals, only a fourth or fifth were even out and visible and half the exhibits were closed or under construction. A total disappointment!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Jtafmedik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lot of exhibits closed, what a waste of money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

It took less than an hour to walk around this zoo that was missing a good bit of the exhibits. For ten dollars a head I could have gone to the movies for 2 hours and had a lot more fun. They should have discounted the tickets and told us upfront. We feel deceived !

Helpful?
3 Thank mintmotors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing