We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Special”
Review of Virginia Zoo

Virginia Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.00*
and up
Norfolk Passport to Fun
Ranked #5 of 70 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I try to visit the zoo in every city that I vacation in. We had a nice time at the zoo, but it wasn't anything that would make an out of towner want to visit. We had fun watching the red panda and the tigers. It was fun but nothing spectacular.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    223
    77
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Pleasant”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

While it may not be huge this zoo is a nice place to spend the day with your kids! I actually would prefer this zoo over the larger ones. This one is the perfect size so you don't feel overwhelmed. The staff are so friendly and helpful. They work really hard to keep the zoo in great shape. Our family goes about 3 times a year and always have a nice experience!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
292 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice zoo but nothing to write home about”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The zoo claims to be on 52 acres but it certainly did not seem that large. Our visit lasted just a little over an hour on a Saturday. Many of the exhibits are dated and in need of maintenance. The new Asia section was nice although it did not have many animals. We have been spoiled by Riverbanks in Columbia, SC and it has many more species for a similar sized zoo. A whole section of interior exhibits near the 'farm' area was closed due to a lecture or classes.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Toothsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
201 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Smaller size, bigger effect”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We visited this zoo today and are already looking forward to our next visit. We arrived as the zoo was opening and apparently this is a great time to interact with the animals as everything, including the usually lazy tigers, were up and wandering around. The people are nice and the highlight was seeing the tapirs which had just been introduced to each other. I highly recommend this zoo to anyone with even a slight like of animals!

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Virginia Zoo, Virginia, VA”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This zoo is amazing. The animals living environment are very well kept up. The animals have a lot of freedom to roam around. The grounds and nicely spread out. There is a wide variety of animals to see. The zoo does offer other attractions, like feeding the animals, ride a train around the zoo and listen to the conductor talk about some of the animals. I recommend wearing good walking shoes, wear sunscreen, and enjoy yourself. There is a lot of places around the zoo that are great photo opportunities for the family. All and all it was a great trip. I would love to go back again.

I took a total of 142 pics of the zoo and their animals. Please feel free to check it out. URL: https://picasaweb.google.com/108976067105384479321/VirginiaBeachVA#.

Zoo URL: http://www.virginiazoo.org/

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ndpndnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Virginia Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing