We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok food,nice view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Crab Shack - CLOSED

Joe's Crab Shack
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Ok food,nice view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The food was just ok,the service the same.The view is the best thing they have going. They are one of the few restaurants with the harbor view.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mcdh4561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    33
    30
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Coconut Shrimp!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our meals were very tasty and based on our waiter's recommendation. He was very helpful and fun, while having a trainee in tow. The wait staff did a Happy Birthday song for a patron, and later, a line dance for entertainment. The view of the harbor was nice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TTdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Fun Option for Eating Seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a fun seafood place right on the Riverwalk and an easy stroll from most local hotels. They have plenty on the menu for non-seafood eaters, as well as some good cocktails and desserts. You will have some tasty options for eating crab to be sure, but don't expect it to be cooked to perfection like you would at a high-end place or else you may be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dnorton_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not all that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have eaten there a couple of times and I was never overly impressed. Food is cooked from frozen. Never seems fresh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jwpvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful, awful, awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We dined at Joe's Crab Shack, Norfolk last Sunday. We have visited Joe's in Fredericksburg, VA and Daytona Beach, FL on several occasions and always been more than happy with food and service. Visiting this one in Norfolk was a waste of our time and a considerable amount of money! The food came out cold, overcooked and actually tasted as if it had been cooked previously and reheated (corn on cob). If it had been one of our meals I would have forgiven them, however, this was the case of all 4! Our waiter " Collie" did as good a job as he could being he was also tending bar along with waiting other tables. In fact, I asked him if he was also washing dishes and cooking! There was only 1 other waitperson on duty. The manager was of no help. We heard him yelling at our waiter in the kitchen. Will never return to this Joe's again and advise everyone else to pick another place to dine while in Norfolk.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DL19642014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing