We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Crab Shack - CLOSED

Joe's Crab Shack
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Ok, let me start this by saying I am super picky about my fish. Very particular. So I was not in love with my meal... But my family did like it. You could not ask for a better waterfront view.it is perfect. The flies don't come until your food does. Drinks are good, loved the fried pickles. View is amazing. Went on a tuesdayand got live music, which was great! Fantastic atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephanieSelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    33
    30
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I love eating by the water, so cozy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a lot of fun at Joe's! The staff have a fun filled moment when they select a song & dance with the guests, hilarious!! Our food was well prepared & tasty!! Even though there was no need, the manager stopped by to welcome us, see if there was anything she could do & thank us for coming. I like that!! The entire staff was very helpful. (Sorry I'm bad about getting names)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmboykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pretty Appetizing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location was great, right next to the festival areas in the Waterside building. Great outside area right ON THE WATER but the inside has areas with a VIEW too thanks to the large windows. The service was a bit weird I think every server in the building visited our table one took order another brought food one checked on us and a fourth brought the check. Not bad service just weird. The food is EXPENSIVE FOR A CHAIN but it was okay, enough options to hold your interest and tasty enough that I would go back again. If you are a New Englander you will scoff at attempted clam bake still entrees. You could do worse. The best part was the LINE DANCING waitresses and waiters that could bust out in a dance at a moment’s notice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsFroggy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Joe's Crab Shack Gives You a Great View & Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We loved the location of Joe's Crab Shack on the waterfront with a picturesque view toward Portsmouth. We had the platter with a crab cake, grilled mahi-mahi and shrimp. The food was tasty and the service was good. I found the pictures of the meals on the menu look a lot bigger than what you get but it was enough and we enjoyed the dining experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaltimoreCHICA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for some local blue crabs while staying at the Sheraton Waterfront. Next door is this chain Joe's. Yes, a chain, but right on the water. No local seafood, but a very reasonable pot of crawfish, shrimp, corn on the cob, and new potato that feeds two well.
Nice atmosphere. The servers were very friendly, too. Highly recommended vs Outback or Hooters, the two other chains in the bldg.
Still looking for those blue crabs!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sbmargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing