We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Thai plus a few craft beers!”
Review of Bangkok Garden

Bangkok Garden
Ranked #246 of 704 Restaurants in Norfolk
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai plus a few craft beers!”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Finally a Thai restaurant with some good beers! They have the Love Hefeweiss, Loose Cannon, and Golden Monkey tripel. Attractive decor, quiet, and a nice banquet-type room. Shrimp with basil, green curry,and pad Thai all tasty, but ask for the relish tray with pepper and fish sauces to tailor your flavor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gr8ful47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    10
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Va. Beach VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Thai”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Pad Thai is excellent. Also in the Thalia (near Town Center) and Ghent in Norfolk
I will go back

Helpful?
Thank BarryDVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bangkok Experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I loved the theme and decorations of this restaurant. I felt like I was in Bangkok eating my spicy cuisine. The staff was cordial and very accomodating.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Econgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not as expected”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I expected really good and authentic food after reading reviews here on tripadvisor. However, i was disappointed. The food wasn't as what we expected. We reached their 1/2 hour before they were about to close. Before asking us to sit, they asked if we would finish our dinner within their closing time. I never experienced anyone who works at a restaurant asking their customer that. But we wanted to have thai so we sat there, after our dinner was served they were litterally standing in front of us to finish dinnner. I would have probaly gone back if the food was great. But combining not so much of good food and not great customer service, I wouldn't go back. I wouldn't recommend it either if you are looking for authentic thai place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpatel126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Taste of Thailand”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

For the best Thai food this side of the Chao Phraya River, visit the Bangkok Garden Restaurant in Norfolk. The food is good and the decor is great, typically Thai with lovely wood paneling and Thai art all around. The service is friendly. Best of all, it is quiet. The semiprivate dining area is perfect for small groups. I enjoyed the pad thai and the chicken satay. The steamed rolls were also nice (just right for sharing). Treat yourself with a nice meal when you have a chance.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob-WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Garden also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing