We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken Like Mom Fried”
Review of Pollard's Chicken

Pollard's Chicken
Ranked #174 of 711 Restaurants in Norfolk
Restaurant details
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chicken Like Mom Fried”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

One of the things I miss most about living in the Tidewater area of Virginia is Pollard's Chicken. Okay, so the dining rooms aren't the greatest, but I'm going to tell you the chicken is orgasmic. My mom was one helluva cook, and the chicken in Pollards is darn near her fried chicken. They wait until it's ordered, cook it and hand it to you piping hot. The side dishes are always excellent also. If you want the total dining experience, you probably want to go somewhere other than Pollards. If what you want is good food at a good price, then Pollards is just your kind of place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Catering at Pollards”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Unfortunately I needed to use Pollard's Catering for a funeral not a tailgate or social party. Howerver Inez took very good care of us at the Tidewater Drive location. The food was prepared perfectly and stayed crisp and warm the entire afternoon. We had a combination of Fried Chicken/BBQ and Tenders which were all very good. However the side dishes of GREEN BEANS for extremely good and so was the POTATO SALAD and BBQ BEANS. Of course you have to order the PUFFS (a tradition). The food was delivered on time and when we arrived back from the funeral we had about 30 people enjoying the food. I thought the total value was fair and would recommend Pollard's catering to anyone. Thank you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Va
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best fried chicken around”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

For fried chicken - this is the place to go. Service can sometimes be slow, but the quality of food makes it worth the wait, especially if you want to do a large quantity. We ordered from a non-Pollards once - not once - and the chicken was greasy and burned.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelllerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Chicken in Town!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Pollard's has been around for decades and has some of the best Chicken in town! Their food is always fresh, hot & delicious. They offer a good selection of sides and some other items such as fish and BBQ Pork & Chicken. They are famous for their Puffs (fried biscuits). One of our favorites is their Fried Chicken Liver Dinners! They have numerous locations around Hampton Roads and offer great Catering also.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimNTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

WOW!!! That is what I have to say about the fantastic food, that was made and enjoyed, for my parent's 50th Wedding Anniversary party held on Saturday, August 4th! Everyone - and I do mean EVERYONE, loved it all! The ham, turkey and chicken were moist, tender and delicious! The potatoes, green beans, salads and rolls were the perfect compliment! Even the next day, when we enjoyed the leftovers...people were still commenting on the moistness of the ham, turkey and chicken! THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH!!! Pollard's made our event AWESOME! You definitely need to check them out if you're considering an event that you need catered!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wyttigr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pollard's Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Pollard's Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing