We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great veal and other dishes with outstanding service”
Review of La Bella in Ghent

La Bella in Ghent
Ranked #95 of 711 Restaurants in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great veal and other dishes with outstanding service”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We live nearby and haven't eaten at this restaurant many times. I saw a number of one stat reviews and knew I needed to provide a review based on our many visits. My wife and I often have veal cappriocia but have had chicken and seafood dishes all of which have been excellent. The wine selection is good with a heavy emphasis on Italian rather than American wines. Wonderful desserts are showcased and the service is attentive. The owner is the chef and he provides hands on oversight to ensure excellent food and service. My wife and I recommend the restaurant highly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    6
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good service but overpriced meal”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stopped for an early dinner at La Bella as out-of-town guests. An associate who lives in the area had recommended it; so we thought we would give it a try. The waiter was fairly attentive and friendly, and the atmosphere was congenial enough.

We are vegetarians, so we were restricted to meatless, cheese-based menu items. I had the Involtini Di Melanzane, which was filling enough for me--two breaded stuffed eggplant pieces, but was a little pricey ($10.99) for an appetizer. My dining partner had the Eggplant Parmigiana for $17.99, which was about the same thing I had and of about the same quantity, except spaghetti came with it. Both our plates were drowning in sauce, and we had to remove some of the overabundant cheese. I also expected some above-average Italian bread in an Italian restaurant; this definitely was a disappointment--thin, small, and flavorless pieces of toasted (but not warm) bread.

Next time we're in town, I think we'll pass on La Bella.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MistralGrenoble2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not a good value for money.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

They charge you too much and they don't bring you what they should. The staff are pretty helpful, and the service is good, don't get me wrong. But I had dessert, and pasta, my friend had pizza. None of them satisfied our expectations. The good thing is the bread they bring you as appetizers. That's the only good thing about this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Chef owned--designed for repeat customers, not one time tourists”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This restaurant is tucked away in a small strip mall near the historic neighborhood of Ghent in Norfolk.. The food is delicious and carefully crafted. Although it is not listed on the menu, gluten free pasta is available for all of the pasta dishes. The service was attentive, but not intrusive.The chocolate flourless torte is very dense and best when paired with the strawberry gelato.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Norma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were staying in Norfolk for the weekend and went there for dinner. The food was excellent and our waitress really took care of us. Phenomenal menu selection! One of the best places we've gone to eat at in Norfolk.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bella in Ghent also viewed

 

Been to La Bella in Ghent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing