We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As always, great Mongolian Bar-b-q” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Genghis Khan Mongolian Bar-b-q

Genghis Khan Mongolian Bar-b-q
Ranked #159 of 695 Restaurants in Norfolk
Cuisines: Asian, Mongolian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“As always, great Mongolian Bar-b-q”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited on Fathers Day with the wife's Parents, four of us total. Once again, this place did not disappoint any of us! Great service, fantastic food and a great selection. I highly recommend the Hot & Sour soup, very tasty and not really too spicy hot. I always add the hot chili oil on the table to it. Again, for best flavor, add one scoop of all the sauces to your bowl. I agree with the reviewer who mentioned that it's a round grill and the cooks walk in circles stirring your selection; it's fun to watch. We enjoy this place very much and will continue to take others here who have never tried it. I'm giving a second review in less than a year because this place deserves one for sure. The wife has had Mongolian at a place in Ga., She says this is the best. I too say, " if you don't enjoy the food, it's your fault"!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shellback98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A long Standing Tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place is one of the Original Ethnic resturants in Norfolk and has stood the test of time.

As I like to say to many people, if you don't like the food here, its your fault. Having eaten mongolian all across this great land this place stands out. I have seen few other places that give you the basic ingredients of the sauce and let you mix to your pleasure. Most places want to force you into a style.

this is also the ONLY place I have seen were the cooks are not lazy and actually move the food around the stone, not stand in one place with spatulas flipping it. this leads to a much more even cooking and distribution of flavor. It is also very pleasing to watch.

The resturaunt is family owned and run by actual mongolians. Stop and talk to them and check out the pictures on the walls. The only thing that could make this place more authentic would be pictures of them actually attacking the great wall of China. you will have to settle for snickering at the fact that the Great Wall Chinesse resturaunt next door went out of bussiness a long time ago and sits empty while the mongolian place is doing fine. I believe there is a cultural lesson somewhere in that.

Always open on Christmas day so lunch here has become a family tradition.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagram
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a must visit restaurant. I can't go to Virginia without a trip to Genghis Khan Mongolian. I'm not a picky eater but this place works for almost everyone. You make all the choices and it is cooked fresh in front of you. Great place for families with children!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2gone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Never been disapointed for the Mongolian BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Visited on Friday the 5th for dinner; we say it's a meal that can't be beat! The wife and I have been visiting here for over 22 years and have never been disapointed. The decor is average but the food is great! Our service this night was excellent this time too. We like the fact that the meal comes with soup; hot flat bread, and there is salad and deserts available too. What we enjoy most is that you pick only the vegetables and meat that you want. There is a great selection of vegetables that should please every one. The meat selection includes beef, pork, chicken (white and dark), lamb and immitation crab (Sea Legs). We like that the rice served is the "sticky" type and that it comes separate and does not have to be cooked with the selected bowl items. A sign says use one of each of the sauces for best flavor and we recommend this very much. At lunch it's one trip unless you want to pay more. It's "all you can eat" at dinner and for the price it can't be beat. We will continue to visit here and long as it's open. It's much more personal than any buffet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shellback98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

It's where the elite meet to eat!

I have to use a 50 character minimum so I'll say it again.

It's where the elite meet to eat!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genghis Khan Mongolian Bar-b-q also viewed

 

Been to Genghis Khan Mongolian Bar-b-q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing