We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Hell's Kitchen

Hell's Kitchen
Ranked #40 of 712 Restaurants in Norfolk
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We saw the reviews and decided to try it; honestly, beer was flat, veggies were soggy, and food was so so. The table was very wobbles and it was extremely loud.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    77
    24
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst customer service!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Worst customer service ever and I've never even gotten to be inside the restaurant yet. I called and made a reservation 11 days ago and was called today the day before my said reservations to be told they are canceling them due to wine fest. They said its a successful time for them, insinuating that my party of 8 was of no importance and bringing in no revenue. I called back after thinking about it wanting to speak with the manager to let him know it's in poor taste what they did. Whoever answered said he'd be in at 7 and he'd call me but only after telling me to come in at 5 instead of 7 when my reservations were for. Well I made them for 7 for a damn reason! Anyways it's now 830 so I figured I'd call back since I haven't heard from him. Now he conveniently has called out to do something with his daughter. I'm sure that's the case. Either way I'd never bring my business to that establishment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbkaiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch and a beer”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This restaurant turned out to be a great place to stop and have lunch while we were in Norfolk for the weekend. The wait staff was attentive and made the experience even better.

We ended up going back to the restaurant later that night for a few more beers and to listen tot he music. Both were hits.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Only close bar that serves food until 1:00 AM. Staff is friendly. Although the name may discourage, the food is great, especially when its 11:45 PM and your hungry. Will return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not My Kind of Spot”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Kinda loud for a weekday afternoon, dark, not aesthetically pleasing, hard benches, average food - not some place I'd go back to, but the service was fine. I had the flounder, crabmeat, scampi dish with asparagus and green beans. Not bad, not good, not something I'd want again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ms90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hell's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Hell's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing