We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Freemason Abbey Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 700 Restaurants in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in a 140 year-old renovated church, Freemason Abbey Restaurant has been a local's favorite in the heart of downtown Norfolk for 23 years. Freemason Abbey is closed New Years Day, 4th of July, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.
Potsdam, Germany
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This downtown restaurant has a great variety of good food, excellent wine and outstanding service. It’s a place always worth to visit. We had a great time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gspla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    264
    124
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our 3rd night in Norfolk, we went here with our work group. The service was great, enjoyed our food as well! You MUST try the She Crab Chowder!!! AMAZING!!!! Bread pudding was just ok and the sirloin was a little tough for my taste. The gouda potatoes were wonderful. Overall, I really enjoyed and would return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FRPittman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwannee, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“"Very Good"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had prime rib that was delicious. The atmosphere is great. Within walking distance of most addresses in downtown. Wait staff very competent. Would love to eat there again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cp32692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
173 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The she crab soup was spectacular BUT”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Slow service, fishy tasting Ceasar Salad paired with hair on the chocolate desert and rundown atmosphere prompt a poor rating. Disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alliofva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Lunch special was ham and cheese sandwich. Clam chowder was good but the sandwich was like something I'd buy off a lunch truck. Disappointing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freemason Abbey Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Freemason Abbey Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing