We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Small Plates”
Review of Empire Little Bar Bistro - CLOSED

Empire Little Bar Bistro
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Small Plates”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner here the other evening. It was an absolute pleasure! Fantastic food that was perfectly prepared and a server who could not have been better. For appetizers my wife had a lobster salad while I enjoyed a delicious curry chicken salad with pears and baguettes. We shared an order of pot stickers and a fillet which were both perfectly prepared (the steak literally melted I my mouth). Couple this with a delicious Pinot Noir and we had a perfect evening. Strongly recommend trying this great gem.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JimCarroll3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    24
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fruitland, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I stopped here after a concert and were looking for some late night food. We loved being able to sample several plates for our meal. Each plate was not a disappointment. We had everything from a goat cheese, roasted garlic and peppers, and olive tapenade spread to clams to tuna sashimi to boursin and artichoke mac & cheese to a succulent filet. We ended with a chocolate kiwi tart. Not to mention the great selection of beers. Kudos to the owner!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimee1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
148 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a great Tapas Bar. Great selection of Belgian and German beers, including Augustiner Edelstoff. Food is really excellent and reasonably priced. A great place to meet with friends after work.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonny1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing find!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently went to a concert at the Norva in Norfolk. We were walking around trying to find a good place to eat when we stumbled upon Empire Little Bar Bistro. We shared 5 tapas but really LOVED the Buffalo Fried Oysters with Blue Cheese Gnocchi and the Bacon Wrapped Dates with a Balsamic Reduction. Liz, our waitress (who was awesome) told us that they rotate the menu seasonally. I would recommend Empire to anyone going to Norfolk.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilhelmina0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Extremely good tapas”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Buffalo fried oysters with blue cheese gnocchi! Amazing. Like a party in my mouth. Bacon wrapped dates. Thai pot stickers. All terrific with a tasty beer selection.

Helpful?
Thank VJC8523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire Little Bar Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing