We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food”
Review of Empire Little Bar Bistro - CLOSED

Empire Little Bar Bistro
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Fruitland, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I stopped here after a concert and were looking for some late night food. We loved being able to sample several plates for our meal. Each plate was not a disappointment. We had everything from a goat cheese, roasted garlic and peppers, and olive tapenade spread to clams to tuna sashimi to boursin and artichoke mac & cheese to a succulent filet. We ended with a chocolate kiwi tart. Not to mention the great selection of beers. Kudos to the owner!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimee1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    24
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a great Tapas Bar. Great selection of Belgian and German beers, including Augustiner Edelstoff. Food is really excellent and reasonably priced. A great place to meet with friends after work.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonny1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing find!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently went to a concert at the Norva in Norfolk. We were walking around trying to find a good place to eat when we stumbled upon Empire Little Bar Bistro. We shared 5 tapas but really LOVED the Buffalo Fried Oysters with Blue Cheese Gnocchi and the Bacon Wrapped Dates with a Balsamic Reduction. Liz, our waitress (who was awesome) told us that they rotate the menu seasonally. I would recommend Empire to anyone going to Norfolk.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilhelmina0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Extremely good tapas”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Buffalo fried oysters with blue cheese gnocchi! Amazing. Like a party in my mouth. Bacon wrapped dates. Thai pot stickers. All terrific with a tasty beer selection.

Helpful?
Thank VJC8523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A tale of two Bistros”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Wanted to stop into "Empire Little Bar Bistro" for a bite and a beverage before heading to the airport. Unfortunately they did not open until 5 PM. So I went into the Bistro next door, "Havana." What a mistake. Havana was completely empty at 4:45 PM. No happy hour discounts whatsoever. Premium vodka martini $11. Cheapest appetizer $12! I passed on the food. I was told by the bartender "we're thinking about happy hour deals in the future."

Finished my drink and went into the Empire. What a contrast. Happy hour price discounts and a whole host of small plate/tapas for $5 and $6. Had another premium vodka martini and a delicious green bean/red chili/almond dish for $13, just two dollars more than a drink alone next door. Will definitely be back here when I have more time, if I ever visit Norfolk.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BaddMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire Little Bar Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing