We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite!”
Review of Empire Little Bar Bistro - CLOSED

Empire Little Bar Bistro
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“My favorite!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is my favorite restaurant downtown. Come early, though. Until they move, they're a small restaurant with only a few tables that fill up fast.

The menu changes periodically, so you get a good variety. Nearly everything I've had here is excellent. The wine selection is pretty good. Service can be a little detached as the (typically) single waiter juggles the entire dining room.

I come here often and highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TBDWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    24
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our Favorite in Downtown Norfolk”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I frequent this great restaurant when in Norfolk. We enjoy the feel of a relatively small bistro where you can see the chefs in action and enjoy a good selection of beer and spirits. The small plates never disappoint and allow you to enjoy a variety of dishes that are prepared with care. We've been going there for several years and the quality has withstood the test of time. Check it out - you'll be glad you did.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hip little bar.”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to get drinks and a little bite before going to a concert downtown and I was pleasantly surprised by this place! They have an interesting cocktail menu and the waitor was very knowledgeable about the drink selection. Our table ordered about 7 different tapas and they were all delicious.

One of my friends who I was dining with was a tad rude and our waitor felt free to sass her back ... I kinda loved it. I would have been put off a little bit, but he was attentive and polite for the rest of our meal. I'll return again! Maybe in better company ...

Just a heads up, under cocktails they have a drink entitled Shut the Hell Up and Go Home or something -- H20 and a strained smile, and they do not itemize checks, although you can split them evenly with credit. There is a certain atmosphere that definitely let's you know that they want to serve people who enjoy good food and drink and make it easy for their servers to do so.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahannimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Foodie's delight”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

On business in Norfolk with a small group, we quickly decided that this was our favorite restaurant in town; we had dinner there three times. The roasted vegetable salad is SO good, and the Petit Filet is just perfect for the smaller appetite; I ordered both all 3 times. We had the same waiter on our first two visits, and were not especially happy with him, but kept coming back because the food (and beer) was so good. If I find myself in Norfolk, I will most definitely be heading to the Empire for my first dinner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank NotANumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding little bar!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

A great little bar if you like craft beer, outstanding food (generous 'small plates', ideally sized in my view), and exceptional cocktails. Service was very friendly and attentive. I wish I could take this place with me and transplant it in my neighborhood!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire Little Bar Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing