We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer selection and food”
Review of Empire Little Bar Bistro - CLOSED

Empire Little Bar Bistro
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great beer selection and food”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nice, hip little spot. Granby street has so much potential with some really great little joints. I wish more places would catch on. Really good tapas. A bit pricey but nice for a night out..especially if you do not get them often.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kukuinut87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    24
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice place, okay food”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

It was okay. The scallops dish was our favorite even though it didn't sit well with my companion. The location is great and their beer selection is fantastic with a nice atmosphere, thus making it an okay choice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SJS557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“delicious and friendly”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Tazewell Hotel and wanted to eat there but they were packed! (a good sign) The next day we were headed out of town, got stuck in tunnel traffic and decided to eat instead. Glad we did. Wait service was knowledgeable and friendly, good beer and wine selection, full bar and delicious tapas. Everything was well prepared, fresh local ingredients daily (their kitchen is tiny so they have no room to store stuff) and the prices were 6-12 a plate.They also serve food late into the night.

We ordered the Mixed Melon Salad / Feta / Fresh Mint / Lime Vin--perfect on a hot day, Watt Ethiopian Chicken and Salmon Au Poivre / Lemon-caper Butter / Grilled Scallions

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good drinks...”
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Nice little bar with a great selection of well made drinks....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weisenbergda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I were passing through and wanted to check out downtown. We found a street that had restaurants and parked in a parking garage and started roaming. We were wanting to eat a nice restaurant because our 2 year old, for once, was not with us. We first went to another restaurant that was full, and they told us to go here. We wouldn't have chosen this restaurant based on the looks of it (not that there was anything wrong with it- we were just in the mood for candlelight dinner sort of thing), but we were so glad we ate here! The food was great and the local vibe feel was really cool. It is small, and casual, but with top notch food. I had some seafood I had never had before and it was delicious. Oh, and the custard is the best I've ever had. Good choice!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNLibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire Little Bar Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing