We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back in time.”
Review of Doumar's

Doumar's
Ranked #1 of 16 Dessert in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A trip back in time.”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This represents a trip back to the classic drive in.For many years on Friday people brought their classic cars to the drive-in.Ice cream servedup in cones made on the original 1906 cone machine,is an experience. The barbecue and the other menu items are worth a try.Atmosphere and simplicity make a visit worth the trip.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cancer23513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    165
    65
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VIRGINIA BEACH
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Classic drive-in diner experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I've dined here since I was a kid! Even brought my own children here to eat. Love the nostalgic drive-in experience. It's not the greatest food, but it's fun! Milkshakes are the best and prices are good. We still go here on special trips to downtown. Even for a night out at Chrysler Theater, we go to Doumars.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDMVaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Old Time Drive-In Ice Cr4am Experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Doumar's is a legion in Norfolk. Abe Doumar invented the waffle ice cream cone and they still make them the old fashioned way. Service and food at the drive-in is very good and always timely. You won't be disappointed with a visit. All ice-cream items on the menu are excellent, along with the barbecue sandwiches.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suppo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Eggnog shakes. Seasonal draw for us.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We are residents from way back. This iconic drive in is must for entertaining out of town visitors and is always fun to drop in on a whim. Retro in every way. Try the excellent fries and thin chocolate milk shake. It's also the only place south of NJ to get Taylor ham sandwiches. If you visit the zoo, plan to stop here before heading home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Okay but not like old times”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This senior citizen remembers old time drive-ins with curb service. This is one in an urban setting but some things didn't sit we'll with me. The bar-b-q pulled pork was okay but there are many places that are better around here. The bun was a bit hard, stale and I wanted some really memorable sauce but it wasn't. Cole slaw was good by itself, on the side as I like it.
I think the strong point for Doumar's is the ice cream, shakes, sodas and sundaes. A long menu of possible ice cream delights which I will return to try on future visits.
My preference is to grab a juicy burger and onion rings or hush puppies and a bottle of Cheerwine across the street and hen have I've cream at Doumar's. Not open late or on Sundays.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SirDouglas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doumar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing