We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Southern Cuisine in a Classy Urban Setting”

Todd Jurich's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Todd Jurich's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 700 Restaurants in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Boush Street
Description: Here you will discover a unique dining experience in upscale dining - casual elegance. At Todd Jurich's Bistro, you will enjoy five-star cuisine and world-class wines in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy flavorful dishes prepared by Chef Todd Jurich and his talented team. He and his staff go the distance to ensure personalized service and a dining experience beyond your expectations.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“New Southern Cuisine in a Classy Urban Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Todd Jurich serves some of the best new southern cuisine in this area. His culinary expertise, particularly with local crab, rockfish and oysters, is some of the best I have ever witnessed. Meats are also well presented with unique sauces, herbs and interpretations. The restaurant has a very good wine list, full bar, and table service is normally excellent. Gordon, who has been with Todd for a very long time, is probably the most professional waiter with whom I have ever had the pleasure of dining.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    31
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Disaster”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

They were running one hour behind for a reservation we made weeks in advance. No apology or acknowledgement of this. Food was excellent but service will keep me from returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KristinGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chef unable to cook meat anything other than rare”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I am not a cook at all, but I know if I was told by a guest that their meat was too rare I would be able to make it right. This is not difficult. What is surprising is that a supposed chef with training can't satisfy a guest the first time and the guest must sit with no food while everyone finishes their meal and looks guiltily at you until your food comes back at the end of the meal STILL rare. Don't you hate people who think their judgment regarding how to raise kids, eat food, choose the best religion, etc. is the right one/best one!! PLEASE. I will never be back. Been a long time too that you arent offered bread in an expensive restaurant and have to ask. I eat out a lot. This restaurant is very very "adequate" or below in all aspects for the price and snobbery. Can't remember last time I came home so hungry and underimpressed regarding everything.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank christie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Restaurant week in Norfolk gave us a good reason to visit again and get a three course meal at a very reasonable price. We have been here before and were always delighted with the food and service. I had the pumpkin soup with sweet blue crab while my husband had the roasted oysters similar to Oysters Rockefeller. Both were very tasty. I opted for the Bistro steak with wild mushrooms and my husband had the lamb. His lamb was delicious with celeriac and roasted apples. My steak had a nice flavor, but it was fibrous. After lengthy chewing I discreetly spit it out; at least I hope I was discreet! Dessert was a treat-chocolate pot de crème and bread pudding with whiskey sauce. After dinner we spoke to the valet for a few minutes on our way out and was told Harrison Ford was in last week and really enjoyed the rockfish...that explains why the menu offered Harrison Ford's Favorite Rockfish as an entre! We will go back, I'll skip the Bistro steak and try one of the other delicious sounding entrees instead.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janisrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

A group of five foodies went there for dinner on Saturday night as none of us had been in awhile and wanted a dining experience. All ordered appetizers - none of which were anything special. Dinners arrived after a long wait after appetizers and were really disappointing. Risotto special of lobster and scallops arrived with lobster meat that had been frozen and thawed in a salt water bath which rendered it rubbery and with no flavor. Scallop entry consisted of 3 scallops over a bed of braised leeks that were too salty to even eat. Flounder topped with crab meat was full of crab shells. Chicken entry had watered down sauce. Server was not too concerned about making the experience whole at end of night. With so many other great restaurants in this area, there is no need to dine here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BabsMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Todd Jurich's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Todd Jurich's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing