We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely not the best”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I was not impressed with this hotel. The staff was both friendly and helpful, and the free hot breakfast was fine, but this did not make up for several negatives. The rooms, including the mattresses, need to be refurbished and thoroughly cleaned. The noise was the biggest negative. Being next to the airport, you get a lot of plane noise (that starts at 6AM), but that is nothing compared to the "parties" that guests have in their rooms until the wee hours of the morning, so don't expect to get much sleep here. Also, the HVAC seemed to be underpowered. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixiegent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmgNorfolk, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations. I would be more than happy to speak with you personally about your stay. We would love for you to give us another try!

Sincerely,

Louie Marcelo-Glenn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    88
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
123
40
8
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed three nights for business. Close to airport and shopping. Front desk helpful and pleasant. Breakfast nice-fresh fruit, yogurts, hot foods, cereals, muffins, coffee, teas,etc.
Mini court w/ mini tennis and basketball. Grills and outdoor seating but a bit too chilly.
Next to police station (trees block view) but makes you feel safe knowing that.
Large refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, and decent sized kitchen with tea,coffee,etc.
Bed comfortable and housekeeping quickly brought up extra blankets,sugars, etc. when called down for them. Business center free to print out what you need to print w/ 2 computers for internet use. Staff eagerly accommodated storing my foods for fridge as I had a late flight out. Got me my food, utensils, plates etc for me to eat my food prior to my departure- very nice.
Gym decent for basic w/o. Would stay again despite there being several new hotels/long stays all nearby just because the staff was so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floors rec'd for safety as few block down the main street area is not so nice so for safe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmgNorfolk, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
We thank you for your recent review of the Residence Inn by Marriott in Norfolk Airport. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities we have to offer and the hospitality of our staff that you experienced during your stay.

Please keep us in mind in your future travels to the Norfolk area and make the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Airport your "Home Away From Home."


At your service,


Louie Marcelo-Glenn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnelly, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Hotel is falling apart. Rooms are marginal at best. Service was okay, but that's it, just okay. Would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idaho_hick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmgNorfolk, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations. I would be more than happy to speak with you personally about your stay. We would love for you to give us another try!

Sincerely,

Louie Marcelo-Glenn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

What a fine hotel this is. Large rooms, cold and quiet air. Full kitchen. The free breakfasts are excellent, except it seems that breakfast times take them by surprise every morning. They announce breakfast starts at 6:30am but at that time they start to bring things out. Breakfast was never really ready until about 6:45. A big deal if you are trying to head out the door for meetings or a flight. Stayed 5 nights and every day was the same thing. The evening socials are only 3 times a week and are just blah with low quality food and the beer and wine are not free.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lugoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmgNorfolk, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel, the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Airport. We are glad you enjoyed the space in our guest rooms and the other amenities we have at the hotel. I apologize for the inconsistent opening hours in our breakfast area that you experienced during your stay. I have address your concern to all my staff and have corrected the issue immediately. With regards to our Social Event, we are continuously looking to improve our food offerings and considers all of our guest requests and recommendations. The 3 nights per week offering for our Social Event is within the Residence Inn Standards, and with regards to the beer & wine offering, unfortunately we have to be in compliance with our State Laws which prohibits complimentary offering of alcoholic beverages.

Please keep us in mnd in your future travels to the Norfolk area and make the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Airport your "Home Away From Home."

At your service,

Louie Marcelo-Glenn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My family and I had the most wonderful stay at this hotel! They went beyond my wildest expectation! Everyone was so accommodating and very professional! I definitely recommend staying at this hotel! You will have the experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferdsperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmgNorfolk, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
We thank you for your recent review of the Residence Inn by Marriott-Norfolk Airport. We are glad that you & your family had a wonderful time during your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with the entire staff to inspire them more in delivering "service so memorable" to all of our guests.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for making the Residence Inn by Marriott-Norfolk Airport your "Home Away From Home."

At your service,

Louie Marcelo-Glenn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We were hit by hurricane Irene. lost power. Not only was it a place to stay but the staff made a stressful event into a relaxing and comfortable stay. they were all so solicitous of or comfort and needs. Room was spacious and clean ,bed... slept like a cloud, full equipped kitchen made it affordable. full breakfast delicious. indoor pool allowed granddaughter to swim in comfort and safety. Our stay started under stressful circumstances but the great staff and accommodations turned our three day stay into a mini holiday. We will be back! Would recommend to all. Thanks staff of the airport Norfolk Marriott residence inn.

Room Tip: All the rooms are suites with kitchens if you use the pool ask for a room up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmgNorfolk, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel, the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Airport. Our goal is to provide "Service So Memorable" and I am so pleased that we were able to turn a stressfull situation into a pleasant experience during Hurrican Irene.

On behalf of the staff at the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport we look forward to your return visit. We will always be here for you and your family as your "Home Away From Home."

Sincerely,

Louie Marcelo-Glenn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The staff here does a great job taking care of your needs and the hotel is very well appointed. Good restaurants close by and a mall as well. There breakfast is worth the visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmgNorfolk, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
We thank you for your recent review of the Residence Inn by Marriott in Norfolk Airport. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities we have to offer and the hospitality of our staff that you experienced during your stay.

On behalf of the staff at the Residence Inn Norfolk AIrport we look forward to your return visit. During your next stay with us, please take advantage of our Social event held during the evening hours 2 to 3 times a week in our dining room area.

At your service,

Louie Marcelo-Glenn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport
5.0 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Airport

Property: Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Address: 1590 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23502-1813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#1 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn, an extended stay hotel that is pet friendly and provides complimentary airport shuttle to and from the Norfolk International Airport (ORF). We have weekly social receptions to mingle with other guests or have a leisurely one on one basketball game on our court. We are only a few miles from the Virginia Beach Oceanfront family friendly activities, Farm Bureau Amphitheater, and downtown Norfolk's corporate district. Spacious suites with fully equipped kitchenettes and separate bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing