We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fabulous Museum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chrysler Museum of Art

Chrysler Museum of Art
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mahnattan48
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous Museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We could have spent days at this exceptional museum. We were inspired to visit by the glass exhibit and it was first class, including the required Chihuly, but also one of our personal favorites Lino Tagliapietro, and many other wonderful artists. It is always exciting to see someone from your home state represented, and there were three Rhode Island glass artists - Toots Zinsky, Howard Ben Tre and Steve Weinberg - all exceptional examples of their work.

My husband found the African art section unusual, and their was a fine photography exhibit we saw. I wish we had had more time to explore, and especially to visit the glass studio. On this trip we had babies and elders making museum outings challenging, but if we ever get back to Norfolk this will be at the top of our list.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Manhattan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    95
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have been fans of the Chrysler for many years and can't say enough good things since the museum recently reopened after an 18-month renovation. Love, love, love the new galleries, the inspired staging of old favorites, and by far, the gallery hosts are something that every museum should emulate. What a joy to chat with friendly, knowledgeable folks instead of being glared at by security guards in uniforms. A must-visit for anyone coming to the Norfolk area and for those of us who live here. Outstanding, accessible, approachable, educational experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VAPrgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“5 Stars for the Chrysler Museum of Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

From the courteous opening of the door for me at the entrance to the friendly escorting of me at the end of my visit, I have nothing but praise for this art museum. But before I visited the actual museum building, I enjoyed a glass-blowing demonstration in the Glass Studio across the street. One of the artists worked a 45-minute presentation from start to finish the making of a beautiful, functional glass pitcher.

I began my tour of the collection at the Chrysler with the world's largest glass collection--its more than 10,000 objects ranged from the functional to the whimsical and the ancient to the modern. I particularly liked the Gianni Toso's (1985) "Chess Set."

As an admirer of European and American painting, I wasn't disappointed by the quality of the selections on display. It includes many wonderful works by a range of well-known artists.

The staff were super friendly and knowledgeable, and I appreciated having them available in the galleries where they were willing to answer questions and expound on works as docents, not just guards, as is the case in many museums. This museum is a gift to visitors--especially since entry is free! Well worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MistralGrenoble2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Loved the glass exhibit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We visited this museum just to see the glass exhibit because I had heard good things about it. I wasn't disappointed. They have glass artwork from through the ages and across the globe. My only regret was that we missed the glassblowing demonstration.

We also explored other areas of the museum while there but our time was quite limited. While there isn't much from huge name artists, what they do have is nice and they make it easy for visitors to get around and enjoy the artwork.

The staff was also very friendly and eager to answer questions. And it's free! Not many museums are free these days, so that's a nice perk.

Overall, I recommend this for anyone who has an interest in artwork, or even architecture. The building itself is something to see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank smkozlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum Worthy of The Title”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

So many priceless works of art, be prepared to spend the day browsing this collection. Fantastic collection from many periods and a family activity that is FREE to the public (donations accepted). Love the tapestries and the glass collection but the many Christian examples of art spans many centuries and is worth the visit alone. Don't miss this amazing museum.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrysler Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Chrysler Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing