We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Glass Studio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chrysler Museum of Art

Chrysler Museum of Art
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
761 reviews
289 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Great Glass Studio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Chrysler museum is currently closed for renovation, but the glass studio across the street is still open. It's a large open studio where you can see visiting glass artists blowing elegant pieces and demonstrations of basic glassblowing principles. Cases along the back of the studio illustrate some of the techniques used in glassblowing, lamp-working, and fusing. There are also some small examples created by visiting artists. Check the schedules to make sure a demonstration is happening when you will be there. Admission to the studio is free. There is some wonderful glass art in the Chrysler Museum collection which will definitely be worth seeing when the museum reopens in May 2014.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    91
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best art museums n the South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This great museum is a gem. While it has a sizable collection of a wide variety of art, it's glass collection alone is a great reason to visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another take on art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I must say I was really glad to visit the museum. They had artifacts from different periods. I totally underestimated their collection. Go during the weekday for less people. Make sure you visit the glass museum as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hersheykiss80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not an art lover”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

to some this would probably be great howver I am not thrilled on art work so I fould this to be very boring. I am not fond of meseums anyway but this one is deffintely not my style. It is more for the people who actually like art.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You will be pleasantly surprised ~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very nice collection for city of this size. Don't miss the relatively new glass-blowing studio! Fee of donation on Wednesdays.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrysler Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Chrysler Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing