We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel of a museum”

Chrysler Museum of Art
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Jewel of a museum”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The museum will be undergoing some restoration but get there if you can. There's much to see from all periods but not so huge that you can't see it all. Thy also host traveling exhibits so there's always something new to see...and don't forget their new glass blowing workshop!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank psradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    107
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

love it! lots of art, hard to see it all in one visit. well laid out and fascinating

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank dena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Chrysler Museum”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

It was a hot day and I went into the Chrysler to cool down ! My first surprise was that entry was free (although they ask you to leave a voluntary donation when you depart) ! The museum is pleasant and surprisingly big inside. On this occasion, I viewed two separate exhibitions of photography and the "house" exhibits of Impressionsts. The collections are small, but interesting. The central piece is the large collection of glass items .. not really my thing, but if you like glass, you will just love these exhibits.
Well worth a visit, whatever the weather ... and please leave a donation ! Entr

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank WilliamSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incrediable Museum”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Located downtown Norfolk. Beautiful museum with wonderful exhibits. Worth going to see. You will not be sorry.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank susananeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gordon Parks exhibit”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My family and I saw the Gordon Parks retrospective. It was very well done. The staff at the Museum and very friendly and knowledgable.

Helpful?
Thank MichelleM3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrysler Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Chrysler Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing