We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place with tons of history”

Battleship Wisconsin
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.00*
and up
Norfolk Passport to Fun
Ranked #2 of 70 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Berthed at Nauticus, the Battleship Wisconsin is one of the largest and last battleships ever built by the U.S. Navy. Explore its deck through a self-guided tour or, with an additional charge, one of our guided tours that will take you back in time to experience this majestic ship that earned five battle stars during WW II.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cool place with tons of history”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My family always looks for cool military finds as I am a veteran and we love history. So when we learned of the USS Wisconsin, we where all over it. There are vets that served on the Wisconsin and enjoyed talking about it's service, and where more then happy to answer questions and even take pictures. If your info this sort of thing, it's a must!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJMcK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    220
    39
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“INTERESTING PIECE OF HISTORY, WELL WORTH YOUR TIME”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

A tour of this ship allows you to understand what serving on a major combat ship was like for it's crew members. These big battle-wagons are now just a part of our navy history. Walking the open decks and viewing the 16" batteries give you the insight to the immense fire power these ships projected. Entering into the interior decks you get to understand what it was like to be a sailor living on one of these large fighting ships. The close quarters of everything, moving up and down the ladders and stepping over the hatches. You get the feeling of how the crew lived @ sea. Brought back many memories of my time in the Naval service. Recommend a visit to the USS Wisconsin for all who have an interest in Naval history.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank uss-tanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A must see ”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

There's nothing like being on a battleship from the best military in the world. My son loved exploring the ship. My daughter enjoyed it as well. We did the self-guided tour. If it was just my wife and I then I probably would have paid for the guided tour to learn more about the ship. Standing on the ship and imagining it in the Gulf War is amazing. It's a definite must see. I highly recommend visiting the USS Wisconsin.

Helpful?
Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauranga newzealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a long visit.”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our party of 4 adults were short on time, and had to spend far too few hours- we felt very privileged to be able to be on board...and the facts available for Wisconsin's very important part in the World history is most enlightening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank garrynjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable, but uncomfortably hot.”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This ship is definitely worth the trip. However, if it's a hot day, bring a cold bottle of water with you. We are from Florida, so hot is something we do well. The ship was hot enough that it became very uncomfortable quickly. The parts of the ship that are not air conditioned are stifling hot. When we got to the part that does have A/C, we found it much more enjoyable. Loved the self-guided tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battleship Wisconsin also viewed

 

Been to Battleship Wisconsin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing