We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ON Wisconsin :)”

Battleship Wisconsin
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.00*
and up
Norfolk Passport to Fun
Ranked #2 of 71 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Berthed at Nauticus, the Battleship Wisconsin is one of the largest and last battleships ever built by the U.S. Navy. Explore its deck through a self-guided tour or, with an additional charge, one of our guided tours that will take you back in time to experience this majestic ship that earned five battle stars during WW II. Open Daily 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“ON Wisconsin :)”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

They have an okay museum set up (average) but the ship, itself, was a really great stop. It didn't score an excellent because the top floors are reserved for special tour groups, the inside doesn't have fans, and it's going to be dangerous for older folks who don't get out in the sun/heat much. Looking through the living quarters were neat, but we only had access to the executive quarters.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank gekogirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    243
    41
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Entertaining for an hour”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I brought a group of teenagers from Chicago to the museum. It took our students about two hours to go through the Nautilus and the retired USS Wisconsin. The museum has a ton of information on the navy and its participation in wars including The Civil War and War of 1812. The museum also profiles the transition from wood to Ironclad ships. Some cool things about the museum were that the students were allowed to touch a small shark in a tank.
Regarding the USS Wisconsin, the group was able to get some great photos on the deck of the ship but you were only allowed on the top desk and a few stairways up from that. You are not allowed inside the ship.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rnj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Every kids needs to have the experience of being on a Battleship.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaspie1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“history”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

this is a great learning experience for adults and children, the daily operations of this ship, My sister spent 22 years in the Navy, many times at sea , I;m glad she suggested that I visit this ship

Helpful?
Thank Gwendolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Interesting & informative”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed the night in Norfolk on a long roadtrip & decided to check out the USS Wisconsin at the urging of our 12 year old son. Originally had planned to take the standard tour (outside deck only) but decided to go with the "below deck" tour. It was more expensive but was well worth it. Our tour guide, Frank, was very knowledgeable about the battleship both during WWII & the Korean War, as well as its recommissioning during the First Gulf War. He had great stories & facts. We also had a volunteer docent, Paul, an active duty Navy seaman, who serves on an aircraft carrier. Between the two of them, we learned so much! The tour includes chow hall, berths, communication rooms, captain's quarters, flagship quarters, firing bay & the bridge. We were lucky with the weather, but wouldn't recommend on a very hot day as the boat has limited AC. I highly recommend this tour-its excellent!!

Helpful?
1 Thank theresaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battleship Wisconsin also viewed

 

Been to Battleship Wisconsin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing