We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Field Trip”
Review of MacArthur Memorial

MacArthur Memorial
Ranked #6 of 72 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Memorial to the five-star US Army General who served in three major wars: WWI, Korea and WWII.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Field Trip”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The kids are learning about WWI & WWII, so we thought this would be a good local place to check out. We were not disappointed! The visitor center has a fantastic WWI exhibit and shows an easy-to-follow MacArthur film. The memorial/museum provides guests with a walk through the general's life, beginning with his parents in the 1800's and spanning through the Korean War. No admission fee, but we gladly donated cash in the box at the welcome desk!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JCKimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    64
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Within walking distance of Nauticus and the USS Wisconsin this a extensive, two building museum which explores the history of General Douglas MacArthur. The admission is free. I learned a lot of things about him. There are hundreds of artifacts, a short movie on his career, his 5 starred Chrysler limousine is in the lobby. He was General of the Army, who commanded the Southwest Pacific in World War II, helped lead the 42nd Division in France in WW1, and led forces in the Korea war. It is worth a visit!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraWCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“What a Great Tribute to a Great General”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This modest (by today's standards) tribute to one of America's greatest Generals is truly a wonderful place to spend part of your day while in Norfolk. The pre-tour film is very well done, the displays are very impactful, and the interactive displays about the battles of WWII are exceptional. By the time you have finished the self guided tour, you will really gain a tremendous insight into the General and the man. And did I mention that the memorial is FREE? there aren't many free attractions left that are as wonderful as this one.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hll333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Visit - And it's FREE!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This memorial was a pleasant surprise. We really enjoyed ourselves and learned more than we expected. The museum features tons of real artifacts – everything from MacArthur’s Chrysler limousine which traversed the Atlantic, uniforms from World War I, a motorcycle and jeep, MacArthur family heirlooms, MacArthur’s famous corn cob pipe and aviator sunglasses, and even the final resting place of Mr. and Mrs. MacArthur.

We began our tour with a 27-minute film that describes the memorial and highlights MacArthur’s life and 52-year military career. It plays on every hour and half hour. From there, we toured an exhibit on the Rainbow Division, then the two-level Memorial. All the staff members were friendly and helped point us in the right direction as far as determining the best order to tour the facility. Upon entering the Memorial, you immediately find yourself in an impressive rotunda, gazing down on the tombs of General Douglas MacArthur and his wife, Joan. From there, there are eight galleries to peruse. Each gallery highlights a period in MacArthur’s life.

Even the gift store was nice. We purchased stamps from the 1940s and some Filipino money from 1942 featuring MacArthur himself.

This made for a great Sunday visit since on-street parking was free and abundant. This would make for a great rainy day or hot day activity.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank foxegurl266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I really enjoyed my visit. I learned a lot of things I didn't know before .Plan your visit around a good movie at the mall. Great Saturday Plan

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacArthur Memorial also viewed

 

Been to MacArthur Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing